LibGuides: English: Databases

Handouts for Using Databases

Finding Articles with ProQuest
ProQuest is a general database that contains a wide variety of articles from newspapers, magazines,
academic journals, and many other periodical sources.
Finding Literary Criticism Articles on JSTOR
JSTOR is a database that focuses on journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This handout shows how to locate literary criticism on the database.
Using Google Scholar
oogle Scholar is a subset of the Google search engine. While google.com will search the entire world wide
web, using Google Scholar, scholar.google.com, limits your search results to those from scholarly sources.
Using Opposing Viewpoints Database
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a general database that contains Viewpoint essays that express an
opinion in addition to articles from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, and many other sources. This handout explains how to locate viewpoint articles on the database.

ProQuest

The largest aggregated database of periodical content in a wide range of subjects. How do I use this?
JSTOR

An archival database of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The collection includes Arts and Sciences I-IV. Journal issues are not current; most titles are available after a 5-year delay. How do I use this?
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

(Gale) Social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. How do I use this?
One Literature
One Literature includes everything in LION plus 150,000+ additional primary sources, 20,000 eBooks, and expanded resources on modern and diverse authors. Primary and critical text database for literary research at all levels. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Literature Resource Center

(Gale) Current and comprehensive literary criticism, biographies, and full-text articles and reference titles on authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Twayne's Authors and Scribner's Writers Series which have in-depth articles on the lives and works of over 1,000 authors from around the world. How do I use this?