A to Z World Food - is an encyclopedia describing the foodways and native cuisine of 175 countries worldwide. Classic recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, main dishes, side dishes, desserts and beverages are featured. Each recipe includes a description of the dish, a list of ingredients with U.S. and metric measurements, and easy-to-follow instructions for preparation.
African American Heritage - (ProQuest) Search essential records for African Americans, including federal census, marriage and cohabitation records, military draft and service records, registers of slaves and free(d) persons of color, Freedman's Bank, and more. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Anthropology - Formerly Ethnographic Video Online, this database offers streaming videos on the study of human culture and behavior. Contains documentaries, footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and select feature films. Most videos include field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, and study guides.
CultureGrams - Cultural information on more than 200 countries, all U.S. States, and Canadian Provinces.
Ethnic NewsWatch - (ProQuest) Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.
HeritageQuest - Powered by Ancestry.com, this genealogical database is rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
JSTOR - An archival database of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The collection includes Arts and Sciences I-IV. Journal issues are not current; most titles are available after a 5-year delay.
PQ Social Science Journals - (ProQuest Central) Coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
PQ Sociology - (ProQuest Central) Articles from international publications focusing on sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.