Troubleshooting Guide for database access
ABI/INFORM Complete - (ProQuest Central) Hundreds of full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Academic OneFile - (Gale) Peer-reviewed articles offering over 5,400 full-text journal titles, extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Academic Search Elite - (EBSCOHost) Multi-disciplinary database offering full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals. Covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Video Online - Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Accounting and Tax - (ProQuest Central) Global and scholarly journals covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day. Also includes reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
ACLS Humanities E-Books - The American Council of Learned Societies' Humanities E-Book Collection has over 1,550 fully searchable books on subjects across the humanities.
African American Heritage - (ProQuest) Search essential records for African Americans, including federal census, marriage and cohabitation records, military draft and service records, registers of slaves and free(d) persons of color, Freedman's Bank, and more. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Agricola - (ProQuest) This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
AHFS Consumer Medication Information - (EBSCOhost) A database of patient education information that provides easy-to-use written instructions on drug therapy.
ALLDATA Online - Automotive diagnostic, repair and estimating information. Available on campus only.
American History in Video - large online collection of American history videos with full-text, printable transcripts. Fully searchable interface, includes newsreels, documentary films and biographical videos with coverage from the eighteenth century to modern day.
Anthropology - Formerly Ethnographic Video Online, this database offers streaming videos on the study of human culture and behavior. Contains documentaries, footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and select feature films. Most videos include field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, and study guides.
Arkansas Legal Index - An index of legal documents including the UALR Law Journal (PTC has 1984-2007), Arkansas Law Review (PTC has 1985-2007), and Arkansas Law Notes (PTC has 1985-2006). (Link provided with permission of the UALR-Pulaski County Law Library)
ARTstor - A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, including a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
PQ Asian Business - (ProQuest Central) Business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
PQ Banking Information Source - (ProQuest Central) Search essential banking industry publications for information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
PQ Biology Journals - (ProQuest Central) Includes a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Business Source Elite - (EBSCOHost) Business journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, and international business.
CALI - (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) Over 800 interactive, computer based tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. Access is password protected, so contact your paralegal instructor for username and password.
Canadian Newstand - (ProQuest Central) Articles, columns, editorials, and features from over over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
CBCA: Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete - (ProQuest Central) A comprehensive Canadian reference collection with over 600 full text titles from scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers, and magazines.
PQ Career and Technical Education - (ProQuest Central) Vocational information from over 500 full text sources. Career information for computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography.
Chronicle of Higher Education - The online version of the weekly higher education journal.
CINAHL Complete - (EBSCOhost) This database provides full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Its broad content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Computer Database - (Gale) Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
PQ Computing - (ProQuest Central) Comprehensive coverage of computer topics including product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.
Consumer Health Complete - (EBSCO) designed to support patients' information needs with content covering all areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Clinical Reference System and Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are included.
Credo Reference - A general reference collection with over 490 titles, covering every major subject
PQ Criminal Justice - (ProQuest Central) Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
CultureGrams - Cultural information on more than 200 countries, all U.S. States, and Canadian Provinces.
eBook Collection - (EBSCOhost) Provides on-line access to full-text books covering a wide range of subjects. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library.)
eBook Community College Collection - (EBSCOhost) This multidisciplinary collection covers topics across programs and fields of study offered in Community Colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content.
ebook Central - (ProQuest) Full-text ebooks on a wide range of subjects.
PQ Education Journals - (ProQuest Central) Provides articles on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Education Source - (EBSCOhost) is the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for 1,700 journals, 830 full text journals, full text for 67 books, and numerous conference papers covering all levels of education from early childhood through higher education, all educational specialties, administration, policy, curriculum, and funding issues. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library.) How do I use this?
Entrepreneurship - (ProQuest) Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
Environmental Science Collection - (ProQuest) Contains full-text articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
ERIC - (ProQuest) Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and reports.
Ethnic NewsWatch - (ProQuest) Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.
Ethnographic Video Online (Anthropology) - streaming videos on the study of human culture and behavior. Contains documentaries, footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and select feature films. Most videos include field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, and study guides.
PQ European Business - (ProQuest Central) Contains the latest European business and financial information from scholarly journals as well as popular magazines and newspapers.
PQ Family Health - (ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Films on Demand - digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia - (EBSCOHost) Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Greenfile - (EBSCOhost) Focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, Greenfile offers over 600 titles with 295,000 records (full text for 4,600) from journals such as Bioscience and Conservation Biology. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library.)
PQ Health Management - A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
PQ Health & Medical Complete - (ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition - (EBSCOHost) Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)
Health Source: Nursing/ Academic Edition - (EBSCOHost) Focusing on medical disciplines with emphasis on journal coverage of nursing and allied health issues.
HeritageQuest - Powered by Ancestry.com, this genealogical database is rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
Hoover's Company Capsules and Profiles - (ProQuest Central) Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Also includes in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
JSTOR - An archival database of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The collection includes Arts and Sciences I-IV. Journal issues are not current; most titles are available after a 5-year delay.
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry - The online version of the authoritative two-volume text provides information on key areas of psychiatry and mental health. Navigate the ebook using the table of contents in the left column. The ebook is also keyword searchable using the search box at the top of the page.
Legal Collection - (EBSCOHost) Legal topics, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies. Current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world.
LexisNexis Academic - National and International newspapers; legal and medical research; and reference (country and state profiles, polls and surveys, biography, and quotations).
Library and Information Science Abstracts - (ProQuest) LISA abstracts and indexes over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more. No full text.
Literary Reference Center Plus - (EBSCOhost) A full text database with literary criticism on authors and poets, author biographies, interviews and images of key literary figures from reference sources, books and literary journals. How do I use this?
Literature Online (LION) - (ProQuest) Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center - (Gale) Current and comprehensive literary criticism, biographies, and full-text articles and reference titles on authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Twayne's Authors and Scribner's Writers Series which have in-depth articles on the lives and works of over 1,000 authors from around the world. How do I use this?
MasterFILE Premier - (EBSCOHost) Multi-disciplinary, general interest periodicals including full-text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and photos, maps and flags.
PQ Military Collection - (ProQuest Central) Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.
Newspaper Source - (EBSCOHost) Regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns, and indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
PQ Newstand - (ProQuest Central) Access the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - (Gale) Social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Oxford English Dictionary - (Oxford University Press) The source for the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces word usage through quotations, classic literature, specialist periodicals, film scripts and cook books. Covers words from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean.
Ox Research - (ProQuest Central) Provides succinct articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide to help students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate.
PQ Political Science - (ProQuest Central) Access to hundreds of leading publications for the study of political science and international relations.
Professional Development Collection - (EBSCOHost) Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full-text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest - The largest aggregated database of periodical content in a wide range of subjects.
ProQuest Research Companion - (ProQuest) Videos and tools to increase a student's ability to find, use, and evaluate information.
PQ Psychology Journals - (ProQuest Central) Over 540 full-text titles covering behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycARTICLES - (American Psychological Association) Peer-reviewed journals and chapters from selected APA books. Browse journal issues from 1988 to the present.
PsychiatryOnline - (American Psychiatry Publishing) includes the DSM-5, full-text psychiatry journals and APA guidelines.
Regional Business News - (EBSCOHost) Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.
PQ Religion - (ProQuest Central) Covers a wide range of diverse, international publications on the study of religion and spirituality.
SIRS Issues Researcher - (ProQuest) Provides argumentative and analytical articles on current issues and hot topics. Although a K-12 resource, this database is useful for college students as well.
PQ Science Journals - (ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
PQ Snapshots - (ProQuest) International market research overviews for 40+ industries in 40+ countries worldwide and includes regional summaries, market size, share, forecasts and segments.
PQ Social Science Journals - (ProQuest Central) Coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
PQ Sociology - (ProQuest Central) Articles from international publications focusing on sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Teacher Reference Center - (EBSCOhost) TRC indexes (no full text) over 260 journal titles with articles on K-12 education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science and mathematics and more. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library.)
PQ Telecommunications - (ProQuest Central) Provides full-text resources on the telecommunications industry and its technology.
Tractor-Trailer TruckSeries - (Works only with Internet Explorer 6 and above) Contains service and repair information for all Class 4 through 7 Tractors, Trailers, and Dry Vans from 1990 to current model year. (Only 30 users allowed at a time)
Vocational and Career Collection - (EBSCOhost) designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
World Book Advanced - searchable database of the World Book Encyclopedia, including an atlas, local and country research guides, primary sources, and e-books. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library).
Can't find what you need? Ask A Librarian.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.