Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your dental assisting research. They include:
- PQ Nursing and Allied Health SourceCoverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Useful Websites
- PubMed Central"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
- Wisc-OnlineSign up for a FREE account to view a variety of interactive lessons. The Health section includes over 25 lessons related to occupational therapy. NOTE: Your computer must have Adobe Flash Player installed to view these guides. Go to https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ to install this software.
- American Occupational Therapy AssociationThe "Students" section is aimed specifically toward current and prospective OT/OTA students and provides a lot of useful educational and career resources.
- OT PodcastsMonthly podcast series provided by the American Occupation Therapy Association. These audio files can be listened to directly on the website or downloaded through iTunes.
- PDR onlineSearch the Physicians Desk Reference online.
Featured Video from Films on Demand: "Occupational Therapy Helps Amanda Overcome Her Learning Disability"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Books on Occupational Therapy @ UA-PTC Libraries
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM930 .E95 2014ISBN: 1617110213While evidence-based practice (EBP) has greatly influenced rehabilitation in the past decade, it continues to evolve and practitioners need guidance to implement evidence into their practice. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, the best-selling text providing step-by-step EBP guidance for rehabilitation professionals, has been updated into an expanded Third Edition.
Disabilities Sourcebook by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Reference HV1553 .D544 2016ISBN: 0780813847Basic consumer health information for people with disabilities and their caregivers about impairments caused by birth defects, sensory and communication disorders, learning disabilities, chronic illness, injury, and trauma, along with facts about assistive technologies, special education and legal, employment, and financial issues. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM735 .O33 2014ISBN: 1451127464The authors of Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction introduce the highly acclaimed, easy-to-understand Occupation Functional Model (OFM) setting the stage for subsequent discussions that guide you through the assessment and treatment of adult patients with physical dysfunction from initial evaluation to treatment to follow-up. Develop a theoretical foundation to guide your professional decisions through the OFM framework used consistently throughout the book.
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM735 .P34 2013ISBN: 0323059120Using a comprehensive, case-based learning approach, Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 7th Edition provides a thorough introduction to occupational therapy practice and prepares you to work with adults who have physical disabilities.
Therapeutic Exercise for Physical Therapist Assistants by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC925.5 .T48 2013ISBN: 1608314200Therapeutic Exercise for Physical Therapist Assistants is the first and only textbook that offers the training you need to fulfill your responsibilities as a physical therapist assistant. This book gives you the knowledge and skills to effectively implement patient treatment plans using therapeutic exercise techniques that you administer under the direction of a physical therapist. Detailed descriptions are provided for the gamut of therapeutic exercises, including range of motion, stretching, open chain resistance training, plyometrics, and functional return. You learn the purpose, position, and procedure for each technique for a complete understanding of how to guide patients in performing these exercises.
Selected E-books on Occupational Therapy @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Occupational Therapy Activities by Call Number: Online book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1861563930At last, a book about the little pieces of occupation which make up life's real situations and experiences and form a basis for therapy. Offered in the form of stories about practice previously published in the popular US publication Advance for Occupational Therapy Practitioners, this enjoyable book presents occupational therapists as "masters of the mundane." Therapists, students and educators will find this easy to read text a useful tool in guiding clinical approaches to therapy.
Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 032308754XAn all-in-one resource covering the basics of point-of-care assessment and intervention, Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction helps you master the skills you need to become competent in occupational therapy (OT) or as an occupational therapy assistant (OTA). It is ideal for use as a clinical companion to Mosby's bestselling texts,
Occupational Therapy and Older People by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118556135This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing. Detailed coverage of bodily structures, functions and pathologies leads onto chapters dedicated to activity, occupation and participation.
Using Occupational Therapy Theory in Practice by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1444355678This concise and practical text for students and practitioners bridges the gap between occupational therapy theory and clinical practice, offering highly practical advice on using theory in practice in a wide range of settings. It considers the nature of professional practice and the need for a sound theoretical basis from which to plan, implement and justify interventions, and investigates the practical use of occupational therapy theory and the issues such use raises in health and social care settings from a European perspective.
Subject Guide
Latest articles from the American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Loading ...
Latest articles from the Annals of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Loading ...
Latest articles from the Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
Loading ...