Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
A&P Websites and Online Tutorials
- Anatomy Arcade"Makes basic human anatomy come ALIVE through awesome free flash games, interactives and videos."
- Get Body SmartOnline A&P "textbook" that includes tutorials and quizzes.
- SpongeLab (Anatomy and Physiology)"Features a drag and drop game where players are tasked with assembling an organ system and making their way through the nervous, skeletal, excretory, and reproductive systems. The site also contains a set of case studies about the various conditions that each system may encounter over the lifespan."
- PennMedicine: Medical Animation Library (University of Pennsylvania)"Set of over 75 different animations and videos designed for medical professionals and the general public," divided by subject area. Requires the free Shockwave and Quicktime programs (links available on the site).
- Aanatomy and Physiology Learning Modules (University of Minnesota)Includes study guides, self tests, medical terminology, and an image bank for A&P courses.
- The Inner Body"Your go-to resource for accurate and easy-to-use information about human anatomy, exploring all systems of the human body."
- PDR onlineSearch the Physicians Desk Reference online.
- PubMed Central"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
General Nursing Websites
"Doctor taking bandage off child"
by Lewis W. Hine
Accessed via the ARTstor database
- Kaplan Nursing Study WebsiteUser name and password required to login to study materials.
- PubMed Central"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
- Medline PlusConsumer health information
- Khan Academy Healthcare and Medicine videosVideos on a variety of health-related topics.
- EhealthMDWebsite "committed to leading the field in offering the most authoritative, visually compelling, and dynamically presented health information in the world."
Latest Articles from American Nurse
Loading ...
Featured video from Films on Demand: "Central Venous Access Blood Draw and Dressing Change: Vascular Access"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Books on Practical Nursing @ UA-PTC Libraries
Procedures for the Primary Care Provider by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves R729 .P75 2017ISBN: 0323340032This practical, spiral-bound reference provides step-by-step illustrated guidelines for basic and advanced office procedures commonly performed by Nurse Practitioners and Physician's Assistants. .
Merenstein and Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RJ253.5 .H36 2016ISBN: 032332083XMerenstein & Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care, 8th Edition, is the leading resource for collaborative, interprofessional critical care of newborns.
Clinical Nursing Calculations by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves (RS57 .S49 2017 )ISBN: 1284057526Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been expertly organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration.
A Practical Guide to Forensic Nursing by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RA1053 .A43 2016ISBN: 1940446341Victims of violence are unfortunately ever-present in healthcare today. Regardless of the setting, nurses are often the first to interact with victims and regularly must step into uncomfortable or difficult situations. To ensure patient and provider safety and enable the best possible outcomes, every nurse should be well- versed in forensic and theoretical issues of violence.
Critical Thinking and Writing for Nursing Students by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RT24 .P75 2016ISBN: 1473925088This book is a clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing program. This new edition also provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection to help nursing students appreciate the requirements of degree level study.
Selected Nursing E-Books @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Moving and Handling Patients at a Glance by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118853679A clear, concise and comprehensive guide to moving and handling patients Superbly illustrated, with full colour photographs throughout Practice-oriented and based on the latest evidence to provide safe and effective patient care Ideal for nursing students, health care assistants, newly qualified nurses, as well as physiotherapists and occupational therapists
Nursing Home Administration by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0826128556A detailed road map of essential knowledge for obtaining licensure and employment as a nursing home administrator, the Seventh Edition of this classic text is updated to reflect the 2014 National Association of Boards of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators (NAB) Domains of Practice.
Adult-gerontology practice guidelines by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0826127630The first book to encompass adult-gerontology practice guidelines for primary care, this comprehensive resource is designed as a text and reference for health care practitioners specializing as adultgerontology nurse practitioners (A-GNP). It provides current national practice guidelines for delivering high-quality primary health care to adult, older adult, and pregnant patients in the outpatient setting. The book delivers chapters that focus on the older adult person, including a chapter describing the major effects of aging on each body system. For quick and easy access, practice guidelines.
Lippincott's Nursing Procedures by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1451146337Lippincott's Nursing Procedures, 6e, is start-to-finish guide to more than 400 nursing procedures from basic to advanced. This reference outlines every procedure, lists equipment, details each step, and includes rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes.
Nursing School Entrance Exams by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1618656023Kaplan's Nursing School Entrance Exams is comprehensive review of all tested material on major nursing school entrance assessments, including the TEAS, HESI, PAX-RN, and Kaplan nursing school entrance exams. It provides focused review and practice for math, reading comprehension, and science--plus special guidance for older students who are making the transition to a career in nursing.
Subject Guide
Recommended Databases
PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your nursing research. They include:
Latest Articles from Nursing Economic$
Loading ...
Latest Podcasts from the Journal of the American Medical Association
Loading ...