Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your dental assisting research. They include:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists. How do I use this?
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
- Health Administration Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. How do I use this?
- Science Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Featured video from Films on Demand: "Paramedics: Personal Qualities and Skills"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Print and Multimedia Materials on EMT/Paramedic
Prehospital Emergency Care by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC86.7 .H346 2018ISBN: 0134704452For courses in Prehospital Emergency Care. The most complete resource for EMT training Comprehensive in scope and student-friendly, Prehospital Emergency Care conveys the "WHY" behind the signs and symptoms students observe and the services they provide. Through a solid foundation of pathophysiology, students will learn to quickly identify immediate life threats and deliver excellent emergency care.
Spanish and the Medical Interview by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC65 .O78 2016ISBN: 0323371140Focusing on communication needs in real-world clinical situations, Dr. Pilar Ortega's updated edition of this practical text helps you address today's growing demand for Spanish-speaking physicians and healthcare workers. This pocket-sized resource provides basic Spanish skills, sample interview questions, relevant cultural information, and more.
Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC86.7 .A44 2017ISBN: 1284131068This Student Workbook contains exercises to reinforce what you will learn in both in the textbook and the classroom. The exercises cover the new National EMS Education Standards and are designed to test your general knowledge, encourage critical thinking, and aid comprehension of assessment and treatment skills.
Bulletproof Spirit by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RA785 .W533 2014ISBN: 1608682617If you are a police officer, firefighter, EMT, ER nurse, or soldier, or you love one -- this book can save your life Suicide, depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), substance abuse, and many more emotional and stress-related problems plague the first-responder community. Hundreds of thousands of these brave public servants have unwittingly become victims of the professions they once loved. However, the suffering that results from a professional life of sacrifice and service can be prevented and mitigated.
Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC86.7 .S54 2013ISBN: 0323078273Thoroughly revised and featuring a more efficient and streamlined design, the new 7th edition of Sheehy's trusted emergency care resource offers complete, up-to-date coverage of the essentials emergency nurses need to know. Each condition commonly seen in the emergency setting is thoroughly addressed, from signs and symptoms, to diagnosis, treatment, developmental considerations, patient education, and more. Updated material and easy-to-reference contents make this resource a must-have for current practice.
Selected E-books on Respiratory Therapy
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and your Password.
Foundations for Paramedic Practice by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0335243878This popular undergraduate level book introduces the main theoretical subjects studied in higher education paramedic courses. The second edition links ways of working to appropriate theory and reflects the current curriculum guidance from paramedic professional bodies. The book covers a wide variety of academic subjects, including those not traditionally taught in ambulance 'in-house' training, such as psychology and sociology.
Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0470656158Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care explores a range of contemporary relevant topics fundamental to professional practice. Written for both pre- and post-registration paramedic students, it is also ideal for existing practitioners looking to develop their CPD skills as well as nursing and other health professionals working in emergency and urgent care settings.
PHTLS - Prehospital Trauma Life Support by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1284041735PHTLS: Prehospital Trauma Life Support is the premier and proven global prehospital trauma education program from NAEMT. For three decades, PHTLS has improved the quality of trauma patient care and has saved lives. This legendary program was first developed by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) in the early 1980s in cooperation with the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACS-COT). Its medical content is continuously revised and updated to reflect current, state-of-the-art knowledge and practice.
Geriatric emergent/urgent and ambulatory care: The pocket NP by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0826134165Concise yet packed with crucial knowledge, The Pocket NP is arranged in a logical head-to-toe format that includes the history and physical examination and essential medical decision-making considerations. The material is organized in a true rapidaccess format, with salient information presented for maximum efficiency and speed of retrieval. A variety of templates for dictation/documentation are provided to assist the clinician with the development of a concise and logical patient record.
Emergency Triage by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118299043Emergency Triage is both a training tool and a reference for daily use in the Emergency Department and prehospital settings. This edition features revised protocols that reflect new approaches to prioritisation, with accompanying revised flowcharts.
Subject Guide
Latest Articles from Open Access Emergency Medicine
Useful Websites
- PubMed Central"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
- PDR onlineSearch the Physicians Desk Reference online.