Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your dental assisting research. They include:
- PQ Nursing and Allied Health SourceCoverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Useful Websites
- PubMed Central"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
"Dr. Georges Viau in his Dental Office"
by Edouard Vuillard
Accessed via the ARTstor database.
- Wisc-OnlineSign up for a FREE account to view a variety of interactive lessons. The Health section includes several dental-related lessons. NOTE: Your computer must have Adobe Flash Player installed to view these guides.
- Adobe Flash PlayerClick on this link to download the free Adobe Flash Player software.
Featured Video from Films on Demand: "Dental Health"
Find more videos like this by going to the PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Suggested Dental Assisting books available @ UA-PTC Libraries
In addition to these resources, UA-PTC Libraries also carries print subscriptions to the periodicals Arkansas Dentistry, and Dental Clinics of North America.
Evolution`s Bite - A Story of Teeth, Diet, and Human Origins by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves GN281.4 .U54 2017ISBN: 0691160538What teeth can teach us about the evolution of the human species Whether we realize it or not, we carry in our mouths the legacy of our evolution. Our teeth are like living fossils that can be studied and compared to those of our ancestors to teach us how we became human.
The Smile Stealers by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RK29 .B36 2017ISBN: 0500519110This achingly fascinating book follows the evolution of dentistry throughout the world from the Bronze Age to the present day, featuring captivating, grim illustrations of the tools and techniques of dentistry through the ages. It charts the changing social attitudes toward the purpose and practice of dentistry from the crude and painful endeavors of early civilizations to the fluoridated water, cosmetic surgery, and heightened expectations of today.
Dental Secrets by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RK57 .D48 2015ISBN: 0323262783Offering practical tips and expert answers to topics in dentistry and oral medicine, Dental Secrets, 4th Edition provides an ideal preparation tool for exams, clinical rotations, and board certification. A concise, illustrated Q&A format covers key areas such as oral pathology and radiology, periodontology, endodontics, restorative dentistry, prosthodontics, orthodontics, infection control, and oral and maxillofacial surgery.
Dental Office Management by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RK 60.5 .L36 2014ISBN: 113328311XMake a good first impression! The first dental professional a patient encounters is generally the front office staff. This interaction is key to promoting the practice and making the patient comfortable. DENTAL OFFICE MANAGEMENT 2E hones professionalism and improves efficiencies in managing the business aspects of dentistry. The various tasks associated with front office dental management are addressed in six sections:the business of dentistry, practice communications, clinical records management, business and financial records management, employment opportunities, and practice management software. Well-rounded and up-to-date with the latest technologies and trends, Dental Office Management is the only resource needed to achieve success in the dental office.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RK27 .M672 2014ISBN: 0323100120A handy reference ideal for the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 3rd Edition defines over 10,000 terms covering all areas of dentistry. Definitions include specialties such as endodontics, periodontics, surgery, and commonly used medical terms. Pocket sized and easy to carry, this edition includes over 300 illustrations and addresses new innovations, research, technology, and products.
Suggested E-Books in Dental Assisting available @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Early Childhood Oral Health by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118925181Dental caries has been called a "silent epidemic" and is the most prevalent chronic disease affecting children. Early Childhood Oral Health coalesces all the important information related to this topic in a comprehensive reference for students, academics, and practitioners.
Dental Benefits and Practice Management by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118980360Dental Benefits and Practice Management: A Guide for Successful Practices is a practical tool that helps you manage your office in tune with the realities of modern dental practice.
Dental Assisting Notes by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0803638221Rely on this handy pocket guide to quickly reference the must-know information you need to prepare for the everyday encounters you'll face in clinical and practice. From easy-to-scan charts of the teeth and detailed depictions of dental instruments to helpful tips on how to administer oxygen and assist patients with multiple medical conditions, this comprehensive, chairside guide is the perfect companion for any setting.
Basic Guide to Anatomy and Physiology for Dental Care Professionals by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1118349261The Basic Guide to Anatomy and Physiology for Dental Care Professionals introduces the fundamentals of human anatomy and physiology to the student Dental Care Professional. Beginning with a definition of anatomy and physiology, and with all the basics of cell, tissue and organ biology, this Basic Guide covers: the cardiovascular, respiratory and digestive systems, all of which are central to the DCP curriculum core areas such as skull and oral anatomy, periodontal tissues, blood and nerve supply to the oral cavity, muscles of mastication, and major salivary glands areas such as jaw and tooth development, and the histology or oral and dental tissue.
Subject Guide
Latest articles from The Dental Assistant
Loading ...
Latest articles from The Journal of Dental Hygiene
Loading ...