This supplement broadens the coverage of the original title to include important Christian authors and influential 1st to 15th-century writers and works, adds authors who could not be included in the first volume and updates the set with additional 20th-century authors.

This literature anthology includes around 300 stories, poems and plays. It features a mix of famous and lesser-known writers from six continents of the world. The work is organized around five themes, which relate to situations people share universally: children and families; women and men; caste and class; war and peace; faith and doubt. Within each thematic chapter there are sections on fiction, poetry and drama, and a brief introduction suggesting connections between the stories, poems and plays. Questions for discussion and writing follow each selection, and each section ends with suggested writing assignments, which should encourage students to explore ideas and themes among genres.

This remarkably broad and informative book offers an introduction to and overview of World Literature. Tracing the term from its earliest roots and situating it within a number of relevant contexts from postcolonialism to postmodernism, Theo D'haen examines: the return of the term "world literature" and its changing meaning Goethe's concept of Weltliteratur and how this relates to current debates theories and theorists who have had an impact on world literature non-canonical and less-known literatures from around the globe the possibility and implications of a definition of world literature. This book is the ideal guide to an increasingly popular and important term in literary studies. It is accessible and engaging and will be invaluable to students of world literature, comparative literature, translation and postcolonial studies and anyone with an interest in these or related topics.

The main aim of the book has been to include writers, movements, forms of writing and textual strategies, critical ideas, and texts that are significant in relation to postmodernist literature. In addition, important scholars, journals, and cultural processes have been included where these are felt to be relevant to an understanding of postmodernist writing. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Postmodernist Literature and Theater contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on postmodernist writers, the important postmodernist aesthetic practices, significant texts produced throughout the history of postmodernist writing, and important movements and ideas that have created a variety of literary approaches within the form. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the postmodernist literature and theater.

A unique combination of biography and critical analysis, covering major writers from outside the United States and their significant works in fiction, drama, poetry, and nonfiction. A companion to the award-winning Critical Survey of American Literature, this comprehensive, six-volume set profiles major authors of fiction, drama, poetry, and essays, each with sections on biography, general analysis, and analysis of the author's most important works-novels, short stories, poems, and works of nonfiction. The completely updated edition covers 400 writers at the heart of literary studies, and now, volumes will be arranged by world region. This edition includes new coverage of contemporary authors from around the globe. Among the new authors profiled in this set are such well-known authors as Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Aravind Adiga, Reinaldo Arenas, J.G. Ballard, Alberto Fuguet, Marlon James, Yann Martel, Patrick Modiano, Orhan Pamuk, Will Self and Jorge Volpi. The literary scope of this reference work is remarkable. Plus, many original essays have been revised. The Biography, Analysis, and Summary sections are updated to include recent developments, and essays have newly updated bibliographies to provide readers with the latest information on the author's works and sources for further consultation. All essays include Discussion Topics, provocative questions that will prompt classroom debates on the writer's body of work, specific works, or life as it relates to his or her literature. Aimed at students, teachers, and members of reading groups, they can be used as paper topics or conversation points. In addition, phonetic pronunciation is provided for an author's foreign-language or unusual last name, and a Pronunciation Key appears at the beginning of all six volumes. Five helpful features can be found at the end of each volume: a Glossary; a Category List that groups authors by genre, country, gender, and ethnic identity; an Author Index that lists all authors covered in the set along with their works; a Title Index of all works covered in the set; and a Geographical List which groups the authors by country.