Skip to Main Content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The UA-PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet above for your computer or device for complete details.
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your health information technology research. They include:
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCOhost) This database provides full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Its broad content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
(EBSCOHost) Focusing on medical disciplines with emphasis on journal coverage of nursing and allied health issues.
PQ Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
PQ Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
PQ Health Administration Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
PQ Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Hundreds of full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Featured Video from Films on Demand: "Health Care Information Technology"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Books on Health Information Technology @ UA-PTC Libraries
Introduction to Computers for Health Care Professionals by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library - Circulation Shelves R858 .J66 2021
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
AJN Award Winner Awarded second place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Informatics category.Introduction to Computers for Healthcare Professionals, Seventh Edition is an integral computer literacy text for nursing and healthcare students. An ideal resource for introductory computer courses for healthcare professionals, the text provides a comprehensive approach to digital literacy with the incorporation of social media tools.
Applied Clinical Informatics for Nurses by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library - Circulation Shelves RT50.5 .A67 2019
Applied Clinical Informatics for Nurses, Second Edition employs a contextually based teaching approach to promote clinical decision making, ethical conduct, and problem solving. The text is designed to assist educators in creating significant and practical learning experiences for nursing students in clinical informatics. Its real-world approach makes it a practical handbook for both faculty and students. The Second Edition features updated and expanded content on a variety of important topics that have been identified as strategic priorities by the National Institute for Nursing Research and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Another important focus is on the interaction between patients and computers and how such interactions can affect the quality of data collected by informatics applications.
Information Technology and Data in Healthcare by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library - Circulation Shelves R858 .H37 2019
One of the long-standing challenges in healthcare informatics has been the ability to deal with the sheer variety and volume of disparate healthcare data and the increasing need to derive veracity and value out of it. This book addresses several topics important to the understanding and use of data in healthcare. First, it provides a formal explanation based on epistemology (theory of knowledge) of what data actually is, what we can know about it, and how we can reason with it. The culture of data is also covered and where it fits into culture. Then, data quality is addressed, with a historical appreciation, as well as new concepts and insights derived from the authors 35 years of experience in technology. The author provides a description of what healthcare data analysis is and how it's changing in the era of almost unlimited data. Just as important is the topic of infrastructure and how it provides capability for data use. The book also describes how healthcare information infrastructure needs to change in order to meet current and future needs. The topics of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning in healthcare are also addressed. The author concludes with thoughts on the evolution of the role and use of data and information going into the future.
Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RT50.5 .H43 2019
For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-¿to-¿date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.
Selected E-books on Health Information Technology @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and your Password.
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology by
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation.
Using Computer Science in Health Care Careers by
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Smartphone apps can monitor your health. Three-D printing can make a prosthetic hand. Robotic exoskeletons allow paraplegics to stand and walk independently. Technology is transforming the world of healthcare. For those interested in pursuing a career in this field, coding and programming skills can open the doors to cutting-edge and high-paying opportunities. This book not only gives an overview of healthcare jobs that depend on computer science skills, but also provides information on the education and training needed to secure work that is challenging, innovative, and helping people lead better lives.
Project Management in Nursing Informatics by
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Data and technology factor more heavily than ever on quality patient care in today's healthcare system. As technology increases in complexity and scope, involving more healthcare roles and types of data analysis, so does the demand for project management and astute leadership. Among other responsibilities, Nurse Informatics Specialists (NIS) manage and implement technology initiatives so clinicians' workflow is more efficient, which improves patient care, and the bottom line. To accomplish these goals, it is essential that the NIS has excellent Project Management skills. Project Management in Nursing Informatics provides core project management skills for Informatics students. This text gives students project management examples using realistic healthcare case scenarios. Chapters describe nursing informatics competencies and project management concepts that will be essential for clinical practicum and practical experience. Case scenarios show the consequences of right and wrong processes and highlight factors that lead to success.
Latest Articles from Latest Articles from the Journal of AHIMA
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.