Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The UA-PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet above for your computer or device for complete details.
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your occupational therapy research. They include:
Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
(EBSCOhost) This database provides full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Its broad content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Films on Demand
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
(EBSCOHost) Focusing on medical disciplines with emphasis on journal coverage of nursing and allied health issues.
PQ Consumer Health Database
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
PQ Health & Medical Collection
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
PQ Health Administration Database
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
PQ Nursing and Allied Health Source
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PQ Science Database
(ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Occupational Therapy and COVID-19
Featured Video from Films on Demand: "Joint Replacement: Physical and Occupational Therapies"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Books on Occupational Therapy @ UA-PTC Libraries
Documentation for Physical Therapist Assistants by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM705 .L84 2018
Explores all aspects of SOAP notes with review questions and practice exercises that help you remember must-know information. Demonstrates what to do and what not to do through examples of appropriate and inappropriate notes. Teaches procedures for multiple practice settings with examples of various types of documentation and forms that prepare you for the real world.
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM930 .E95 2014
While evidence-based practice (EBP) has greatly influenced rehabilitation in the past decade, it continues to evolve and practitioners need guidance to implement evidence into their practice. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, the best-selling text providing step-by-step EBP guidance for rehabilitation professionals, has been updated into an expanded Third Edition.
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RM735 .O33 2014
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction, 7th Edition introduces the highly acclaimed, easy-to-understand Occupation Functional Model (OFM) in the first section, setting the stage for subsequent discussions that guide you through the assessment and treatment of adult patients with physical dysfunction from initial evaluation to treatment to follow-up.
Pierson and Fairchild's Principles and Techniques of Patient Care by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RT42 .P48 2018
Master the basics of rehab patient care with Pierson and Fairchild's Principles & Techniques of Patient Care, 6th Edition. This proven text not only provides clear "how-to" information on everything from positioning and draping to patient transfers and ambulation activities, but it also includes easy-to-understand rationales explaining the "why" behind these proven techniques.
Selected E-books on Occupational Therapy @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Occupational Therapy and Older People by
Call Number: Online book. Click title to access.
This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing.
The Occupational Therapy Handbook: Practice Education by
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Written specifically for occupational therapy students, newly qualified occupational therapists and educators and is a useful reference guide for academic tutors. The Occupational Therapy Handbook reflects modern day occupational therapy practice and education.
Using Occupational Therapy Theory in Practice by
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
This concise and practical text for students and practitioners bridges the gap between occupational therapy theory and clinical practice, offering highly practical advice on using theory in practice in a wide range of settings. It considers the nature of professional practice and the need for a sound theoretical basis from which to plan, implement and justify interventions, and investigates the practical use of occupational therapy theory and the issues such use raises in health and social care settings from a European perspective.
Latest articles from the American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Latest articles from Occupational Health & Wellbeing
"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."
Sign up for a FREE account to view a variety of interactive lessons. The Health section includes over 25 lessons related to occupational therapy. NOTE: Your computer must have Adobe Flash Player installed to view these guides. Go to https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ to install this software.
American Occupational Therapy Association
The "Students" section is aimed specifically toward current and prospective OT/OTA students and provides a lot of useful educational and career resources.
Monthly podcast series provided by the American Occupation Therapy Association. These audio files can be listened to directly on the website or downloaded through iTunes.
Search the Physicians Desk Reference online.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.