Skip to Main Content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The UA-Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet above for your computer or device for complete details.
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your radiography research. They include:
Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
(EBSCOhost) This database provides full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Its broad content coverage includes 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Films on Demand
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
(EBSCOHost) Focusing on medical disciplines with emphasis on journal coverage of nursing and allied health issues.
PQ Consumer Health Database
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
PQ Health & Medical Collection
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
PQ Health Administration Database
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
PQ Nursing and Allied Health Source
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PQ Science Database
(ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Featured Video from "Films on Demand": "Radiation Therapy"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Print Books
Medical Imaging for the Health Care Provider by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC 78.7 .D53 C35 2017
A concise, easy-to-use reference, this book includes written descriptions enhanced with figures, tables, and actual patient films to demonstrate concepts, and discusses--in easily accessible language--differences in testing modalities.
The Digital Doctor by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves R 858 .W33 2015
Written with a rare combination of compelling stories and hard-hitting analysis by one of the nation's most thoughtful physicians, The Digital Doctor examines healthcare at the dawn of its computer age. It tackles the hard questions, from how technology is changing care at the bedside to whether government intervention has been useful or destructive.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Reference RD17 .G34 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, 3rd Edition, provides patients and caregivers a start-to-finish overview of a surgery or test, as well as information on related diseases and conditions, medications, and other issues that pertain to hospitalization, insurance plans, and the impact of the affordable Care act on all of the above. This information will help the average person understand what to expect with the procedure, empowering them to be better informed healthcare consumers and care advocates. This title can also serve as a ready reference for Junior college students and undergraduate students majoring in health fields.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC78.17 .C35 2017
Prepare for success on the ARRT certification exam! Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography: The Complete Study Guide & Career Planner, 7th Edition offers a complete, outline-style review of the major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam in radiography.
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging by Zero in on a key aspect of radiology with Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging: The Essentials! Ideal as an efficient learning tool for residents as well as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists, this practical reference covers every essential feature of this important field, putting indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact, high-yield format. You’ll be brought up to date on radiation dose and safety, patient satisfaction, monitoring and reporting of complications, quality and safety in breast imaging, evidence-based radiology, quality dashboards, quality and safety in nuclear medicine, and much more.
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access
Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age by This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook itself and the Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on key words to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirrors the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Call Number: Online book. Click title to access.
Pediatric Imaging by Master the key concepts that are critical to the practice of pediatric radiology Ideal as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists as well as an efficient learning tool for residents, this new text puts indispensable information at your fingertips in a practical, high-yield format. More than 1,300 superb illustrations highlight the "essentials" of the field - information that is vital to understanding the wide variety of pathologies seen in pediatric imaging.
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Essential Radiology: Clinical Presentation, Pathophysiology, Imaging by As an overview to radiology this high quality text from Thieme provides a comprehensive picture of current imaging practice and is suitable for reading by a range of healthcare professionals at undergraduate or post-graduate level. -- RAD Magazine Essential Radiology, Third Edition, is an extensively revised and updated text that provides a highly engaging, integrated overview of the use of radiology in every specialty and subspecialty, covering all imaging modalities and organ systems.
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Medical Imaging Technologies and Methods for Health Care by Medical Imaging Technologies and Methods for Health Care provides timely, evidence-based information that helps readers understand innovations in medical imaging. These innovations are computer / imaging based technologies which are set to have a bigger impact on the detection and management of human diseases. This volume covers: -Image processing and analyses -Computer-aided diagnosis and detection -Data mining in medical imaging -Mobile picture archiving and communications systems (PACS) -Image analytic methods in bone mineral density and detection of Alzheimer's disease -Biomedical engineering methods applied in biomedical imaging This volume is intended as a useful resource for undergraduate and post-graduate students in medical imaging technology, radiographers, doctors, biomedical engineers, researchers and practitioners in health care.
Call Number: On-line e-book. Click title to access.
Latest articles from "Applied Radiology"
Latest articles from "Medical Imaging Week"
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.