Social justice is founded on the belief that all people deserve equal rights and dignified treatment. It is a broad concept in that it seeks to end discrimination against all marginalized communities. Traditional methods for social justice organizing in the United States include nonviolent protest, education and voter drives, media outreach, ballot initiatives, and litigation. Social media and online organizing have emerged as powerful tools in the twenty-first century.
Books
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781442216044Publication Date: 2014-12-18
Music Is Power by
Honorable Mention, 2019 Foreword INDIES Awards - Performing Arts & Music Popular music has long been a powerful force for social change. Protest songs have served as anthems regarding war, racism, sexism, ecological destruction and so many other crucial issues. Music Is Power takes us on a guided tour through the past 100 years of politically-conscious music, from Pete Seeger and Woody Guthrie to Green Day and NWA. Covering a wide variety of genres, including reggae, country, metal, psychedelia, rap, punk, folk and soul, Brad Schreiber demonstrates how musicians can take a variety of approaches-- angry rallying cries, mournful elegies to the victims of injustice, or even humorous mockeries of authority--to fight for a fairer world. While shining a spotlight on Phil Ochs, Gil Scott-Heron, The Dead Kennedys and other seminal, politicized artists, he also gives readers a new appreciation of classic acts such as Lesley Gore, James Brown, and Black Sabbath, who overcame limitations in their industry to create politically potent music Music Is Power tells fascinating stories about the origins and the impact of dozens of world-changing songs, while revealing political context and the personal challenges of legendary artists from Bob Dylan to Bob Marley. Supplemental material (Artist and Title List): https://d3tto5i5w9ogdd.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/24001955/Music_Is_Power_Supplementary_Artist_Title_List.doc
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1978808127Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Why I March by
New York TimesBestseller IndieboundBestseller The Washington PostBestseller San Francisco ChronicleBestseller On January 21, 2017, five million people in 82 countries and on all seven continents stood up with one voice. The Women's March began with one cause, women's rights, but quickly became a movement around the many issues that were hotly debated during the 2016 U.S. presidential race--immigration, health care, environmental protections, LGBTQ rights, racial justice, freedom of religion, and workers' rights, among others. In the mere 66 days between the election and inauguration of Donald J. Trump as the 45th President of the United States, 673 sister marches sprang up across the country and the world. ABRAMS Image presents Why I Marchto honor the movement, give back to it, and promote future activism in the same vein. All royalties from the sale of the book will be donated to the National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health, the Transgender Law Center, and the Council on American-Islamic Relations.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781419728853Publication Date: 2017-02-21
So You Want to Talk about Race by
In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a hard-hitting but user-friendly examination of race in America Widespread reporting on aspects of white supremacy -- from police brutality to the mass incarceration of Black Americans -- has put a media spotlight on racism in our society. Still, it is a difficult subject to talk about. How do you tell your roommate her jokes are racist? Why did your sister-in-law take umbrage when you asked to touch her hair -- and how do you make it right? How do you explain white privilege to your white, privileged friend? In So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from intersectionality and affirmative action to "model minorities" in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race and racism, and how they infect almost every aspect of American life. "Oluo gives us -- both white people and people of color -- that language to engage in clear, constructive, and confident dialogue with each other about how to deal with racial prejudices and biases." -- National Book Review
Call Number: E184.A1 O454 2018ISBN: 9781580056779Publication Date: 2018-01-16
A More Beautiful and Terrible History by
This is "a bracing corrective to a national mythology" around the civil rights movement. The civil rights movement has become national legend, lauded by presidents from Reagan to Obama to Trump, as proof of the power of American democracy. This fable, featuring dreamy heroes and accidental heroines, has shuttered the movement firmly in the past, whitewashed the forces that stood in its way, and diminished its scope. And it is used perniciously in our own times to chastise present-day movements and obscure contemporary injustice. In A More Beautiful and Terrible History award-winning historian Jeanne Theoharis dissects this national myth-making, teasing apart the accepted stories to show them in a strikingly different light. We see Rosa Parks not simply as a bus lady but a lifelong criminal justice activist and radical; Martin Luther King, Jr. as not only challenging Southern sheriffs but Northern liberals, too; and Coretta Scott King not only as a "helpmate" but a lifelong economic justice and peace activist who pushed her husband's activism in these directions. Moving from "the histories we get" to "the histories we need," Theoharis challenges nine key aspects of the fable to reveal the diversity of people, especially women and young people, who led the movement; the work and disruption it took; the role of the media and "polite racism" in maintaining injustice; and the immense barriers and repression activists faced. Theoharis makes us reckon with the fact that far from being acceptable, passive or unified, the civil rights movement was unpopular, disruptive, and courageously persevering. Activists embraced an expansive vision of justice--which a majority of Americans opposed and which the federal government feared. By showing us the complex reality of the movement, the power of its organizing, and the beauty and scope of the vision, Theoharis proves that there was nothing natural or inevitable about the progress that occurred. A More Beautiful and Terrible History will change our historical frame, revealing the richness of our civil rights legacy, the uncomfortable mirror it holds to the nation, and the crucial work that remains to be done.
Call Number: E185.61 .T44 2018ISBN: 9780807075876Publication Date: 2018-01-30
No one is too small to make a difference by Call Number: GE195 .T49 2019ISBN: 9780141992716Publication Date: 2019
The NFL National Anthem Protests by
This volume provides a concise but authoritative overview of the NFL national anthem protests and the fierce debates they have sparked about patriotism, constitutional rights, military service, police brutality, and social justice. This book in the 21st Century Turning Points series is a one-stop resource for understanding the people and events changing America today. This volume is devoted to the NFL national anthem protests, which have triggered both fierce condemnation and spirited defenses since August 2016, when San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick first refused to stand for the anthem to bring attention to the issues of social injustice and police brutality. NFL National Anthem Protests not only surveys the events that led to Kaepernick's decision but also traces the fallout from that choice--the decision by other players to join him, the angry response from some NFL fans and President Trump himself, and the frantic efforts of the league to keep the controversy from consuming the NFL. The book also uses those events and responses as a vehicle for deeper examinations of all of the issues they have raised, including the nature of peaceful protest, the place of the flag in American life, the constitutional parameters of free speech, and the facts about police brutality and racial discrimination in America. * Features entries devoted to specific events and milestones * Profiles highlight the contributions of important activists and other figures * Explores the lasting impact of the Kaepernick's protest on American life * Provides a bibliography of sources for further study
Call Number: GV955.5.N35 H33 2019ISBN: 9781440869037Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Marriage Equality by
The authors explore the deeply religious, rabidly political, frequently administrative, and pervasively constitutional features of the debate and consider all angles of its dramatic history. While giving a full account of the legal and political issues, the authors never lose sight of the personal stories of the people involved, or of the central place the right to marry holds in a person's ability to enjoy the dignity of full citizenship. This is not a triumphalist or one-sided book but a thoughtful history of how the nation wrestled with an important question of moral and legal equality.
Call Number: KF539 .E75 2020ISBN: 9780300221817Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Punishment Without Crime by
A revelatory account of the misdemeanor machine that unjustly brands millions of Americans as criminals. Punishment Without Crime offers an urgent new interpretation of inequality and injustice in America by examining the paradigmatic American offense: the lowly misdemeanor. Based on extensive original research, legal scholar Alexandra Natapoff reveals the inner workings of a massive petty offense system that produces over 13 million cases each year. People arrested for minor crimes are swept through courts where defendants often lack lawyers, judges process cases in mere minutes, and nearly everyone pleads guilty. This misdemeanor machine starts punishing people long before they are convicted; it punishes the innocent; and it punishes conduct that never should have been a crime. As a result, vast numbers of Americans -- most of them poor and people of color -- are stigmatized as criminals, impoverished through fines and fees, and stripped of drivers' licenses, jobs, and housing. For too long, misdemeanors have been ignored. But they are crucial to understanding our punitive criminal system and our widening economic and racial divides. A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2018
Call Number: KF9300 .N38 2018ISBN: 9780465093793Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Web Resources
- Black Lives MatterBlack Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
- The Conscious Kid - Racial Literacy: Key TermsAn education, research, and policy organization dedicated to equity and promoting healthy racial identity development in youth.
- Human Rights CampaignThe Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 3 million members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.
- National Education Association - EdJusticeNEA EdJustice engages and mobilizes activists in the fight for racial, social and economic justice in public education. Readers will find timely coverage of social justice issues in education and ways they can advocate for students, schools, and communities.
- Racial Equity ToolsRacial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.
- Southern Poverty Law CenterThe Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality.
- Yes MagazineYES! Media is independent and nonpartisan. Our explanatory journalism analyzes societal problems in terms of their root causes and explores opportunities for systemic, structural change.
- ‘Nothing About Us Without Us’: 16 Moments in the Fight for Disability RightsA New York Times article. The disability civil rights movement has many distinct narratives, but the prevailing themes are of community, justice and equity.