*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 

Basic Format:

The author's name appears as last name, first name. The basic form for a book citation is:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of  Publication.

Example:

Koryta, Michael. So Cold the River. Little Brown and Company, 2010.

 

Book Two Authors:
If a book has two author, the first author's name appears in last name, first name format. The second author's name appears in first name, last name format. Use a comma between the authors' names.

Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.

 Example:

Patterson, James, and Maxine Paetro. 7^th Heaven. Little Brown and Company, 2008. 

 

Book with More than Two Authors:
If a book has two author, the first author's name appears in last name, first name format followed by a comma and the abbreviation et al.

Lastname, Firstname, et al. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.

 Example:

Blanchard, Kenneth H., et al. The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business. Little Currency Doubleday, 2008. 

 

Book with No Author:

List by title of the book first instead of the author's name. List these entries alphabetically by title instead of by author's name.

 

 

Book with an Editor

Use the basic book format, and replace the author's name with the editor's name followed by ed. The editor's name appears as last name, first name. The basic form for a book citation is:

Lastname, Firstname, editor. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of  Publication. 

Example:

Jones, Micheal, editor. So Warm the Ocean. Pink and Company, 1999. 

 

Book with Editor and Author:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edited by Firstname Lastname. Publisher, Year of  Publication. 

 

Example:

Smith, John. A Long Way Home. Edited by Sarah Jane. Popular Publishing, 2001. 

 

 

An Edition of a Book:

Use the basic citation format for a book and add the number of the edition after the title.

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edition, Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Example:

Modern Language Association of America. MLA Handbook. 9th ed., Modern Language Association of America, 2021.

 

This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you need citation information for a type of book that is not listed above, please visit their website. All examples were created for this LibGuide.

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 

A Chapter in a Book or a Work in an Anthology, Reference, or Collection

Examples of these works may include an essay/short story/poem in an edited collection or a chapter of a book.

The basic format is:

 

Some examples:

Swanson, Gunnar. "Graphic Design Education as a Liberal Art: Design and Knowledge in the University and The 'Real World." The Education of a Graphic Designer, edited by Steven Heller, Allworth Press, 1998, pp. 13-24.

Burns, Robert. "Red, Red Rose." 100 Best-Loved Poems, edited by Philip Smith, Dover, 1995, p. 26. 

Kincaid, Jamaica. "Girl." The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories, edited by Tobias Wolff, Vintage, 1994, pp. 306-07. 

 

If all of the works in the collection have the same author, then there will be no editor:

A Multivolume Work

When citing only one volume of a multivolume work, include the volume number after the work's title, or after the work's editor or translator.

Smith, Paul.  "Overview: 'A Rose for Emily'."  Short Stories for Students, edited by Jay Parini, vol. 7, McGraw-Hill, 1999, pp. 358-360.

 

Article in a Reference Book (e.g. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries)

Cite an encyclopedia, dictionary, or other reference book using the same basic format for a book. Include edition, if given and not the first edition, volume number if applicable, and pages of the cited entry.

 "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, ed. Edition, vol. Volume Number, Publisher Name, Year of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page.

Example:

 

An Introduction, Preface, Foreword, or Afterword

When citing an introduction, a preface, a foreword, or an afterword, write the name of the author(s) of the piece you are citing. Then give the name of the part being cited, which should not be italicized or enclosed in quotation marks.

 Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book Part. Title of book, by Book Author's name. Publisher, Date of Publication, pp. Pages. 

Examples:

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

*When listing a URL, leave off the https:// 

 Electronic Books (Ebooks) accessed through library database or website

If you are citing a book hosted by an online database, use the following information.

1. Use the citation format for a print book.

2. Before you put the Medium of the Publication, add the name of the database and the date the book was retrieved.

Lastname, Firstname. Title. Publisher, Year of Publication. Name of Database, PermalinkURL.

 

Database Example:

Concoran, Ian. The Art of Digital Branding. Allworth Press, 2007. eBbook Collection (EBSCOhost), uaptc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=209926&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_C.

 

Onilne Example:

Brower, Kate A. The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House. Harper Collins, 2016. GoogleBooks, books.google.com/books?id=6yjjCgAAQBAJ&lpg=PP1&dq=white%20house&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q=white%20house&f=false

  

(This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.)