Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
Examples:
Duvall, John N. "The (Super)Marketplace of Images: Television as Unmediated Mediation in DeLillo's White Noise." Arizona Quarterly, 12 May 1994, pp. 127-53.
Articles in a Database
Cite articles from UA-PTC databases (e.g. ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.) the same as a print article. After the page numbers, list the title of the database in italics and then the DOI or PermalinkURL. If a DOI is not provided, use the PermalinkURL instead.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Day Month Year, pp. pages. Database name, URL or doi.
Example:
Junod, Tom. "The State of the American Dog." Esquire, August 2014, p. 64. Proquest, search.proquest.com/docview/1558967057/fulltext/3DC239BE818F482APQ/2?accountid=39906.
(This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you need more information about citing a magazine article, please visit their website.)
Cite a newspaper article the same way you would a magazine article. However, there are different types of page numbers in a newspaper.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, p. pages.
Example:
Brubaker, Bill. "New Health Center Targets County's Uninsured Patients." Washington Post, 24 May 2007, p. LZ01.
Soergel, Matt. "WWII Medic Downplays Heroism, Recalls Combat: Veteran Newey Says 'I'm just Thankful'.." Pensacola News Journal, 5 June 2022, ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/wwii-medic-downplays-heroism-recalls-combat/docview/2673053726/se-2.
*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. number, no. issue number, Year, pp. pages.
Example:
Carpenter, Lucas. "It Don't Mean Nothin': Vietnam War Fiction and Postmodernism." College Literature, vol. 30, no. 2, 2003, pp. 30-50.
Articles in a Database
Cite articles from UA-PTC databases (e.g. ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.) the same as a print article. After the page numbers, list the title of the database in italics and then the DOI or PermalinkURL. If a DOI is not provided, use the PermalinkURL instead.
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. number, no. issue number, year, pp. pages. Database name, URL or doi.
Example:
This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab website.
Ottenheimer-North Library
(501)812-2272
Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.