Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your dental assisting research. They include:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists. How do I use this?
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
- Health Administration Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. How do I use this?
- Science Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Featured Video from "Films on Demand": "Radiography: MRI"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Print Books
Medical Imaging for the Health Care Provider by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RC 78.7 .D53 C35 2017ISBN: 0826131263A concise, easy-to-use reference, this book includes written descriptions enhanced with figures, tables, and actual patient films to demonstrate concepts, and discusses--in easily accessible language--differences in testing modalities.
The Digital Doctor by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves R 858 .W33 2015ISBN: 0071849467Written with a rare combination of compelling stories and hard-hitting analysis by one of the nation's most thoughtful physicians, The Digital Doctor examines healthcare at the dawn of its computer age. It tackles the hard questions, from how technology is changing care at the bedside to whether government intervention has been useful or destructive.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Reference RD17 .G34 2014ISBN: 1573027367The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, 3rd Edition, provides patients and caregivers a start-to-finish overview of a surgery or test, as well as information on related diseases and conditions, medications, and other issues that pertain to hospitalization, insurance plans, and the impact of the affordable Care act on all of the above. This information will help the average person understand what to expect with the procedure, empowering them to be better informed healthcare consumers and care advocates. This title can also serve as a ready reference for Junior college students and undergraduate students majoring in health fields.
Selected e-books
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Pediatric Imaging by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1496329562Master the key concepts that are critical to the practice of pediatric radiology Ideal as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists as well as an efficient learning tool for residents, this new text puts indispensable information at your fingertips in a practical, high-yield format. More than 1,300 superb illustrations highlight the "essentials" of the field - information that is vital to understanding the wide variety of pathologies seen in pediatric imaging.
Emergency and trauma radiology: A teaching file by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to accessISBN: 1496345622Publication Date: Daniel B. Nissman editor
Handbook of interventional radiologic procedures by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1496347617
Emergency imaging: A practical guide by Call Number: On-line e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 1604067438A comprehensive introduction to the clinical radiology of trauma and acute diseases, Emergency Imaging: A Practical Guide helps readers acquire the image interpretation skills necessary to care for patients with emergent conditions.
Subject Guide
Useful websites
- MediLexicon Medical Equipment Dictionary"Search for definitions and descriptions of medical equipment and surgical devices from [a] database of over 3,000 entries."
- PubMed Central (Full Text Biomedical Journal Articles)"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."