Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the Online Catalog
You can search for both print and electronic books through the Library's online catalog. Type the keyword(s) in the search bar below and then hit 'Search'. Keywords can be any combination of words from the author, title, or subject fields. Examples are:
- math* and Newton (will retrieve math, mathematics, mathias, maths and so on COMBINED with Newton)
- Leonhard Euler (books by or about Leonhard Euler)
Tip: Keep in mind that you only need a few keywords for any search. The more words you enter the fewer results you will find. Try to limit your keywords to 3 or less.
Additionally, you don't not have to search by keyword. You can also search by Title, Author, Subject, Journal Title, or Call Number. Keyword searching is the best choice though when looking for a resources on a topic.
Browsing the Shelves
If you'd prefer to peruse our shelves rather than search our catalog, most mathematics books can be located under the following Library of Congress call numbers:
- Elementary Math: QA 101 -145
- Algebra: QA 150 - 272.5
- Calculus: QA 303
- Geometry/Trigonometry: QA 440-699
- Probabilities and Statistics: QA 273-280
Interesting Books Related to Math
Notable Women in Mathematics by
Call Number: QA 28 .N68 1998 (Main 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves)
Substantive biographical essays on 59 women mathematicians from around the world who have made significant contributions to mathematics from antiquity to the present.
Culinary Calculations by
Call Number: TX 911.3.M33 J56 2004eb (eBook)
Useful,applied coverage of mathematics for the food service industry In today's competitive food service industry, a strong command over the basics of mathematics is essential to the success of every business. Culinary Calculations covers the critical math concepts culinary and food service professionals need to increase the profitability of a food service establishment by accurately controlling food costs, portion sizes, and food waste.
How Mathematics Happened by
Call Number: QA 22 .R86 2007 (Main 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves)
In this fascinating discussion of ancient mathematics, author Peter Rudman does not just chronicle the archeological record of what mathematics was done; he digs deeper into the more important question of why it was done in a particular way. Complete with sidebars offering recreational math brainteasers, this engrossing discussion of the evolution of mathematics will appeal to both scholars and lay readers with an interest in mathematics and its history.
In Pursuit of the Unknown by
Call Number: QA 21 .S834 2012 (Main 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves)
An approachable and informative guide to the equations upon which nearly every aspect of scientific and mathematical understanding depends, In Pursuit of the Unknown is also a reminder that equations have profoundly influenced our thinking and continue to make possible many of the advances that we take for granted.
EBSCOhost eBook Databases
You no longer have to come to the Library to read books in our collection!
EBSCOhost eBook Collection eBook Community College Collection
- Available off-campus using your myPTC username and password
- Provides online access to full-text books coering a wide range of subjects
- Over 20,000 titles that were originally published on paper but are now available online
- Read directly from your computer screen
- Print up to 60 pages (Note: There is a 20 page print limit in the Library)
- Create PDFs of chapters or page ranges (up to 60 pages)
- Download eBooks to your computer, Apple or Android devices, and Kindle for up to 2 weeks!
Downloading eBooks requires signing up for a free MyEBSCOhost account as well as additional viewing requirements. The viewing requirements for different devices are:
- Computer: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing (To sign up for and download this software is free.)
- Apple or Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended (This app can be downloaded from your respective App Store for free.)
- Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle (Instructions on how to use the Send to Kindle feature can be found here)
Instructions for downloading eBooks to various devices:
Library Math Books for Studying
Schaum's Outline of Theory and Problems of College Mathematics by
Call Number: QA37.2 .A948 2003eb
An ideal course text or supplement for the many underprepared students enrolled in the required freshman college math course, this revision of the highly successful outline (more than 348,000 copies sold to date) has been updated to reflect the many recent changes in the curriculum.
Calculus DeMYSTiFieD by
Call Number: QA 303.2 .k74 2003eb
LEARNING CALCULUS JUST GOT A LOT EASIER Here's an innovative shortcut to gaining a more intuitive understanding of both differential and integral calculus. With "Calculus Demystified" you ease into the subject one simple step at a time -- at your own speed. A user-friendly, accessible style incorporating frequent reviews, assessments, and the actual application of ideas helps you to understand and retain all the important concepts.
Bob Miller's Basic Math and Prealgebra by
Call Number: QA 39.3 .M57 2007eb
STUDENT TESTED AND APPROVED! If you suffer from math anxiety, then sign up for private tutoring with Bob Miller! Do mathematics and algebraic formulas leave your head spinning? If so, you are like hundreds of thousands of other students who face math-especially, algebra-with fear. Luckily, there is a cure: Bob Miller's Clueless series! Like the teacher you always wished you had (but never thought existed), Bob Miller brings knowledge, empathy, and fun to math and pre-algebra. He breaks down the learning process in an easy, non-technical way and builds it up again using his own unique methods.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.