Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Browse the Shelves
Except for some special collections like Children's, books in the UA-PTC Libraries are arranged according to the Library Of Congress Classification System. In this system call numbers starting with the letter L indicate books that focus on Education. Some specific call numbers for Early Childhood Education subject areas are below:
Early Childhood Education
||Preschool Education. Nursery Schools
||Elementary or Public School Education
Children's Collection Books
Books in the Children's Collection are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System. This is the same arrangement that you would find in school and public libraries.
Fiction books are arranged in two broad categories as indicated by the beginning of the call number:
E: Easy Reader books for reading to a child. Arranged alphabetically by author with the first three letters of the authors name as the second line of the call number as in:
Fic: Fiction chapter books, which usually have fewer pictures and are designed for independent reading. Arranged alphabetically by author with the first three letters of the authors name as the second line of the call number as in:
Nonfiction books are arranged by subject first, then the author's last name. Call numbers for nonfiction books appear like this:
Below are the basic Dewey Decimal Classification subject divisions:
000 Computer science, information & general works
100 Philosophy & psychology
300 Social sciences
700 Arts & recreation
900 History & geography
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The UA-PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet above for your computer or device for complete details.
Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Suggested Education Books at UA-PTC Libraries
A History of Children's Books in 100 Books by
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
The Rhetorical Power of Children's Literature by The Rhetorical Power of Children's Literature is an edited volume with contributions from established and new scholars of rhetoric offering case studies that analyze a full array of genres in children's literature from picture books to young adult novels. Collectively, this volume's contributions interrogate how children's literature is a powerful yet under examined space of rhetorical discourse that influences one of the most vulnerable segments of our population. This book is singularly unique given that it will be the first collection of essays on children's literature from the distinct perspective of the field of Communication. Beyond topical novelty, the contributors utilize a range of scholarly methods to analyze instances of the rhetoric of children's literature. Consequently, essays in this volume may be read for both their specific topical content and as exemplars for multiple methodological approaches to the study of the rhetoric of children's literature. Collectively, the contributors set out to contribute to our knowledge of how instances of children's literature operate as rhetorical discourses. The volume is organized by case studies approached through critical, rhetorical lenses that analyze specific instances of children's literature from two distinct stages of children's developmental reading experiences including pre/early literacy and fluent reading. Structurally, the book includes eight content chapters divided evenly with four chapters analyzing books for young children and four chapters analyzing books targeting audiences from late-childhood to adolescence. An overview of each content chapter accompanies this proposal. is an edited volume with contributions from established and new scholars of rhetoric offering case studies that analyze a full array of genres in children's literature from picture books to young adult novels. Collectively, this volume's contributions interrogate how children's literature is a powerful yet under examined space of rhetorical discourse that influences one of the most vulnerable segments of our population. This book is singularly unique given that it will be the first collection of essays on children's literature from the distinct perspective of the field of Communication. Beyond topical novelty, the contributors utilize a range of scholarly methods to analyze instances of the rhetoric of children's literature. Consequently, essays in this volume may be read for both their specific topical content and as exemplars for multiple methodological approaches to the study of the rhetoric of children's literature. Collectively, the contributors set out to contribute to our knowledge of how instances of children's literature operate as rhetorical discourses. The volume is organized by case studies approached through critical, rhetorical lenses that analyze specific instances of children's literature from two distinct stages of children's developmental reading experiences including pre/early literacy and fluent reading. Structurally, the book includes eight content chapters divided evenly with four chapters analyzing books for young children and four chapters analyzing books targeting audiences from late-childhood to adolescence. An overview of each content chapter accompanies this proposal.
Call Number: PN1009.A1 R478 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Prepared by A blueprint for how parents can stop worrying about their children's future and start helping them prepare for it, from the cofounder and CEO of one of America's most innovative public-school networks BILL GATES'S HOLIDAY READING LIST * "A treasure trove of deeply practical wisdom that accords with everything I know about how children thrive."--Angela Duckworth, New York Times bestselling author of Grit An educator and mother, Diane Tavenner cofounded the first Summit school in 2003. Summit Public Schools has won national recognition because 99 percent of Summit students get into a four-year college, and Summit students finish college at twice the national average. But in a radical departure from the environments created by the college admissions arms race, Summit students aren't focused on competing with their classmates for rankings or test scores. Instead, students spend their days solving real-world problems and developing the skills of self-direction, collaboration, and reflection, all of which prepare them to succeed in college, thrive in today's workplace, and lead a secure and fulfilled life. Today, thousands of educators, tens of thousands of students, and hundreds of schools across thirty-eight states and the District of Columbia have embraced the Summit model. Through personal stories and the hard-earned lessons of Summit's exceptional team of educators and diverse students, Diane Tavenner shares the underlying learning philosophies and unconventional wisdom that lead to all children being prepared for school and life. Advance praise for Prepared "In a world filled with lots of parenting advice, Prepared cuts through the noise, offering a no-nonsense guide for raising curious, confident kids. Diane shares the secret sauce behind Summit's success and how we can make sure that all kids can have the same opportunity."--Jon Deane, CEO of GreatSchools "Prepared is compelling and actionable. It tells the story of why we all must do this work. We must prepare every child, not allow luck or circumstance to dictate their future--and ours."--Dr. Priscilla Chan, CEO of the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, pediatrician, and mother "Diane Tavenner is one of the leading thinkers in education today--her energy and insights are infectious. There is no one better to think big about what kids need, and who can roll up her sleeves to make it happen."--Sal Khan, founder and CEO of Khan Academy
Call Number: LB1031 .T38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
STEM Learning with Young Children by This teacher's guide provides the background information, STEM concepts, and strategies needed to successfully implement an early STEM curriculum (Ramps and Pathways) with young children, ages 3-8. R&P actively engages young children in designing and building ramp structures using wooden cove molding, releasing marbles on the structures, and observing what happens. Children use logical-mathematical thinking and problem-solving skills as they explore science concepts related to motion, force, and energy. This guide helps teachers to: Structure and organize an engaging STEM learning environment. Understand and promote logical-mathematical and scientific thinking during investigations. Promote social settings that enhance communication, cooperation, and collaboration. Make the necessary accommodations and modifications for diverse learners. Integrate STEM concepts and skills with other content areas. Align teaching and learning with Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Assess STEM learning using formative and summative assessments. Establish adult learning communities to support ongoing professional development. Help children develop habits and behaviors that contribute to positive attitudes toward STEM. This one-of-a-kind resource uses a newly created Inquiry Teaching Model (ITM) as the conceptual framework and devotes specific attention to the importance of an inclusive and social, STEM learning environment in which children are free to collaborate, take risks, and investigate within the context of exploratory and constructive play.
Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves LB1139.5.S35 C68 2016
Sit down and Shut Up by On his very first day of school as a substitute teacher, Cinque Henderson was cursed at and openly threatened by one of his students. Not wanting trouble or any broken bones, Henderson called the hall monitor, who escorted the student to the office. But five minutes later the office sent him back with a note that read, "Ok to return to class." That was it: no suspension, no detention, no phone call home, nothing. Sit Down and Shut Up: How Discipline Can Set Students Free is a passionate and personal analysis of Henderson's year as substitute teacher in some of America's toughest schools. Students disrespected, yelled at, and threatened teachers, abetted by a school system and political culture that turned a willfully blind eye to the economic and social decline that created the problem. Henderson concludes that the failures of our worst schools are the result of a population in crisis: classrooms are microcosms of all our nation's most vexing issues of race and class. The legacy and stain of race--the price of generational trauma, the cost of fatherlessness, the failures of capitalism, the false promise of meritocracy--played itself out in every single interaction Henderson had with an aggressive student, an unengaged parent, or a failed administrator. In response to the chaos he found in the classroom, Henderson proposes a recommitment to the notion that discipline--wisely and properly understood, patiently and justly administered--is the only proper route to freedom and opportunity for generations of poor youth. With applications far beyond the classroom, Henderson's experiences offer novel insights into the pressing racial, social, and economic issues that have shaped America's cultural landscape. Sure to ignite discussion and controversy,Sit Down and Shut Up provides a frank evaluation of the broken classrooms of America and offers a bold strategy for fixing them.
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Suggested Education E-Books
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
The Encyclopedia of Infant and Toddler Activities, Revised by With new activities and explorations, tips and information to help you understand how to support the littlest learners, and research nuggets to enhance your own professional knowledge, the Encyclopedia of Infant and Toddler Activities, revised, will be your go-to resource!Learn about the rapid brain growth in the earliest years.Discover how infants and toddlers learn through active exploration.Learn how to create a developmentally appropriate environment where infants and toddlers feel safe to explore.Find out how to support development of language, social-emotional, cognitive, and motor skills.Activities will help you support curiosity, play, exploration, persistence, emerging foundations in literacy and math, problem solving, and so much more!
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
Creative Investigations in Early Math by Math crops up in everyday activities in so many ways. You can help preschoolers see math in the petals of a flower, the shape of a window, the bounce of a ball, the growth of a plant, and the repetition of a song. Instead of teaching math to preschoolers, you can be their guide as they experiment, think about problems, try solutions, gain understanding, and discuss their findings. Creative Investigations in Early Math gives teachers practical ideas for intentionally fostering young children's hands-on explorations in the following areas:Number and number senseComputationGeometry and spatial senseMeasurementData collection and statisticsPatterns and relationshipsWith your guidance, preschoolers can figure out how the world of mathematics works and how math works in their world.
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
The Language of Art by Typical art resources for teachers offer discrete art activities, but these don't carry children or teachers into the practice of using the languages of art. This resource offers guidance for teachers to create space, time, and intentional processes for children's exploration and learning to use art for asking questions, offering insights, exploring hypotheses, and examining experiences from unfamiliar perspectives. Inspired by an approach to teaching and learning born in Reggio Emilia, Italy, The Language of Art, Second Edition, includes: A new art exploration for teachers to gain experience before implementing the practice with children Advice on setting up a studio space for art and inquiry Suggestions on documenting children's developing fluency with art media and its use in inquiry Inspiring photographs and ideas to show you how inquiry-based practices can work in any early childhood setting Ann Pelo is a teacher educator, program consultant, and author whose primary work focuses on reflective pedagogical practice, social justice and ecological teaching and learning and the art of mentoring. Currently, Pelo consults early childhood educators and administrators in North America, Australia, and New Zealand on inquiry-based teaching and learning, pedagogical leadership, and the necessary place of ecological identity in children's--and adults'--lives. She is the author of several books including the first edition of The Language of Art and co-author of Rethinking Early Childhood Education.
Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.
New Easy Reader Children's Books @ UA-PTC Libraries
The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by The Duckling asks for a cookie -- and gets one! Do you think the Pigeon is happy about that?
Call Number: E Wil
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Sulwe by From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within. Sulwe has skin the color of midnight. She is darker than everyone in her family. She is darker than anyone in her school. Sulwe just wants to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister. Then a magical journey in the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything. In this stunning debut picture book, actress Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical and heartwarming story to inspire children to see their own unique beauty.
Call Number: E Nyo
Publication Date: 2019-10-15
Seashells by Young naturalists discover thirteen seashells in this elegant introduction to the remarkable versatility of shells. A dual-layered narrative highlights how shells provide more than a protective home. The informative sidebars underscore characteristics specific to each shell. Elegant watercolor illustrations create a scrapbook feel, depicting children from around the world observing and sketching seashells across shores.
Call Number: 594.147 Ste
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Hair Love by It's up to Daddy to give his daughter an extra-special hair style in this ode to self-confidence and the love between fathers and daughters, from former NFL wide receiver Matthew A. Cherry and New York Times bestselling illustrator Vashti Harrison. Zuri's hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and curls every which way. Zuri knows it's beautiful. When Daddy steps in to style it for an extra special occasion, he has a lot to learn. But he LOVES his Zuri, and he'll do anything to make her -- and her hair -- happy. Tender and empowering, Hair Love is an ode to loving your natural hair -- and a celebration of daddies and daughters everywhere.
Call Number: E Che
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Saturday by In this warm and tender story by the Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Thank You, Omu!, join a mother and daughter on an up-and-down journey that reminds them of what's best about Saturdays: precious time together. Today would be special. Today would be splendid. It was Saturday! But sometimes, the best plans don't work out exactly the way you expect.... In this heartfelt and universal story, a mother and daughter look forward to their special Saturday routine together every single week. But this Saturday, one thing after another goes wrong--ruining storytime, salon time, picnic time, and the puppet show they'd been looking forward to going to all week. Mom is nearing a meltdown...until her loving daughter reminds her that being together is the most important thing of all. Author-artist Oge Mora's highly anticipated follow up to Caldecott Honor Thank You, Omu! features the same magnificently radiant artwork and celebration of sharing so beloved in her debut picture book.
Call Number: E Mor
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
A Million Dots by It's a long way to a million, right? Of course it is. But do you really know what a million looks like? If you'd like to see -- actually see, right now, with your own eyes -- what a million looks like, just open this book. Be prepared to learn some interesting things along the way. Like how many shoe boxes it would take to make a stack to Mount Everest. And be prepared to do some number wondering of your own. But, most of all, be prepared to be amazed. Because a million is a LOT of dots.
Call Number: 513.2 Cle
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
The Cool Bean by AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! AN AMAZON BEST BOOKS OF THE MONTH (DECEMBER 2019) SELECTION! The "too-cool-for-school" third picture book from the #1 New York Times bestselling creators of The Bad Seed and The Good Egg, Jory John and Pete Oswald Everyone knows the cool beans. They're sooooo cool. And then there's the uncool has-bean . . . Always on the sidelines, one bean unsuccessfully tries everything he can to fit in with the crowd--until one day the cool beans show him how it's done. With equal measures of humor, wit, and charm, the #1 New York Times bestselling duo Jory John and Pete Oswald craft another incredible picture book, reminding us that it's cooler to be kind. Check out John and Oswald's other books for children: The Bad Seed The Good Egg That's What Dinosaurs Do
Call Number: E Joh
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Please Don't Eat Me by Beloved author-illustrator Liz Climo is back with a hilarious take on (reluctant) friendship that will appeal to fans of We Don't Eat Our Classmates and I Want My Hat Back! When a carefree bunny is approached by a voracious bear in the woods, Bunny has just one request: "Please don't eat me." But the bear has a never-ending list of requests, and Bunny realizes maybe Bear isn't as hungry as he'd let on...maybe he just wants his new friend's company for a while. This witty and poignant exploration of predator and prey will have children and parents alike roaring with laughter--and looking for their next meal.
Call Number: E Cli
Publication Date: 2019-10-15
A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood by The New York Times Best Seller For the first time ever, 75 beloved songs from Mister Rogers' Neighborhood and The Children's Corner are collected in this charmingly illustrated treasury, sure to be cherished by generations of children as well as the millions of adults who grew up with Mister Rogers. It's you I like. It's not the things you wear, It's not the way you do your hair-- But it's you I like. From funny to sweet, silly to sincere, the lyrics of Mister Rogers explore such universal topics as feelings, new siblings, everyday life, imagination, and more. Through these songs--as well as endearing puppets and honest conversations--Mister Rogers instilled in his young viewers the values of kindness, self-awareness, and self-esteem. But most of all, he taught children that they are loved, just as they are. Perfect for bedtime, sing-along, or quiet time alone, this beautiful book of meaningful poetry is for every child--including the child inside of every one of us.
Call Number: 811.6 Rog
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.