Skip to Main Content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the Online Catalog
You can search for both print and electronic books through the Library's online catalog. Type the keyword(s) in the search bar below and then hit 'Search'. Keywords can be any combination of words from the author, title, or subject fields. Examples are:
- revolut* and United States (will retrieve revolution, revolutionary, revolutions and so on COMBINED with United States)
- Sigmund Freud (books by or about Sigmund Freud)
Tip: Keep in mind that you only need a few keywords for any search. The more words you enter the fewer results you will find. Try to limit your keywords to 3 or less.
Additionally, you don't not have to search by keyword. You can also search by Title, Author, Subject, Journal Title, or Call Number. Keyword searching is the best choice though when looking for a resources on a topic.
Browsing the Shelves
If you'd prefer to peruse our shelves rather than search our catalog, most psychology books can be located under the following Library of Congress call numbers beginning with BF. Further specific subclass locations are:
- Psychology: BF 1-990
- Psychoanalysis: BF 173-175.5
- Psychological tests & testing: BF 176-176.5
- Experimental Psychology: BF 180-198.7
- Comparative Psychology: BF 660-685
- Developmental Psychology: BF 712-724.85
- Parapsychology: BF 1001-1389
- Occult Sciences: BF 1404-2055
Additional psychology locations outside of the BF call numbers:
- Neurophysiology and neuropsychology: QP 351-495
- Psychiatry: RC 435-571
- Psychoanalysis (Medicine): RC 500-510
- Psychopathology: RC 512-569.5
You can also browse the catalog for books and DVDs using these subject keywords.
Psychology Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
EBSCOhost eBook Databases
You no longer have to come to the Library to read books in our collection!
EBSCOhost eBook Collection eBook Community College Collection
- Available off-campus using your myPTC username and password
- Provides online access to full-text books coering a wide range of subjects
- Over 20,000 titles that were originally published on paper but are now available online
- Read directly from your computer screen
- Print up to 60 pages (Note: There is a 20 page print limit in the Library)
- Create PDFs of chapters or page ranges (up to 60 pages)
- Download eBooks to your computer, Apple or Android devices, and Kindle for up to 2 weeks!
Downloading eBooks requires signing up for a free MyEBSCOhost account as well as additional viewing requirements. The viewing requirements for different devices are:
- Computer: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing (To sign up for and download this software is free.)
- Apple or Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended (This app can be downloaded from your respective App Store for free.)
- Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle (Instructions on how to use the Send to Kindle feature can be found here)
Instructions for downloading eBooks to various devices:
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
Interesting Books and eBooks Related to Psychology
Call Number: BF204 .G76 2013 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
A dramatic narrative history of the psychological movement that reshaped American culture. In Encountering America, cultural historian Jessica Grogan reveals how these ideas stormed the barricades of our culture through the humanistic psychology movement. From the group of ideas that became known as New Age to perennial American anxieties about wellness, identity, and purpose, Grogan traces how humanistic psychology continues to define the way we understand ourselves.
David and Goliath
Call Number: BF503 .G53 2013 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
In David and Goliath, Malcolm Gladwell challenges how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering a new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or cope with a disability, or lose a parent, or attend a mediocre school, or suffer from any number of other apparent setbacks. Gladwell begins with the real story of what happened between the giant and the shepherd boy those many years ago. From there, David and Goliath examines Northern Ireland's Troubles, the minds of cancer researchers and civil rights leaders, murder and the high costs of revenge, and the dynamics of successful and unsuccessful classrooms---all to demonstrate how much of what is beautiful and important in the world arises from what looks like suffering and adversity.
Below is a list of psychology related books and ebooks the library has in the collection. In order to access ebooks off-campus you will need to use your student ID # and 8 digit birthday to log in. (Example: Log In: 123456789 / Password: 01011900)
Drunk Tank Pink
Call Number: BF636 .A48 2013 (Ottenheimer-South: Circulation Shelves)
Drunk Tank Pink is the first detailed exploration of how our environment shapes what we think, how we feel, and the ways we behave. Drunk Tank Pink is full of revelatory facts, riveting anecdotes, and cutting-edge experiments that collectively explain how the most unexpected factors lead us to think, feel, and behave the way we do.
Freud's Mass Psychology
Call Number: BF173 .S86 2003eb (ebook)
Surprenant's study examines the term mass in Freud's writings, and shows that it denotes less a type of human grouping than a preoccupation with quantity, one of the key concepts in Freud's theory of the psyche. The book offers an original contribution to Freudian studies by demonstrating that the problem of the mass, rather than standing as an exclusive socio-political concern, touches upon the question of the philosophical relevance of Freud. Focusing on this neglected term allows the author to raise anew the question of the 'application' of psychoanalysis, beyond a mechanistic understanding of this term and of Freud's writings.
Call Number: BF637.N66 B43 2004eb (ebook)
Are you saying one thing whilst your hands reveal another? Are you influenced by other people's body language without even knowing it? Darting through examples found anywhere from the controlled psychology laboratory to modern advertising and the Big Brother TV phenomenon, official Big Brother psychologist Geoffrey Beattie takes on the issue of what our everyday gestures mean and how they affect our relationships with other people.
Organize Your Mind, Organize Your Life
Call Number: BF323.D5 H36 2012 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
The key to a less hectic, less stressful life is not in simply organizing your desk, but organizing your mind. Dr. Paul Hammerness, a Harvard Medical School psychiatrist, describes the latest neuroscience research on the brain's extraordinary built-in system of organization. Margaret Moore, an executive wellness coach and codirector of the Institute of Coaching, translates the science into solutions. This remarkable team shows you how to use the innate organizational power of your brain to make your life less stressful, more productive and rewarding.
You Are Not So Smart
Call Number: BF441 .M37 2011 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
An entertaining illumination of the stupid beliefs that make us feel wise. You believe you are a rational, logical being who sees the world as it really is, but journalist David McRaney is here to tell you that you're as deluded as the rest of us. But that's OK- delusions keep us sane. You Are Not So Smart is a celebration of self-delusion. It's like a psychology class, with all the boring parts taken out, and with no homework. Packed with interesting sidebars and quick guides on cognition and common fallacies, You Are Not So Smart is a fascinating synthesis of cutting-edge psychology research to turn our minds inside out.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.