Skip to Main Content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the Online Catalog
You can search for both print and electronic books through the Library's online catalog. Type the keyword(s) in the search bar below and then hit 'Search'. Keywords can be any combination of words from the author, title, or subject fields. Examples are:
- revolut* and United States (will retrieve revolution, revolutionary, revolutions and so on COMBINED with United States)
- Sigmund Freud (books by or about Sigmund Freud)
Tip: Keep in mind that you only need a few keywords for any search. The more words you enter the fewer results you will find. Try to limit your keywords to 3 or less.
Additionally, you don't not have to search by keyword. You can also search by Title, Author, Subject, Journal Title, or Call Number. Keyword searching is the best choice though when looking for a resources on a topic.
Browsing the Shelves
If you'd prefer to peruse our shelves rather than search our catalog, most political science books can be located under the following Library of Congress call numbers beginning with J. Further specific subclass locations are:
- General Legislative & Executive Papers: J 1-981
- Political Science (General): JA 1-92
- Political Theory: JC 11-605
- Political Institutions & Public Administration: JF 20-2112
- Political Institutions & Public Administration (North America): JJ 1000-1019
- Political Institutions & Public Administration (United States): JK 1-9993
- Political Institutions & Public Administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.): JL 1-3899
- Political Institutions & Public Administration (Europe): JN 1-9689
- Political Institutions & Public Administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific area, etc.): JQ 21-6651
- Local Government; Municipal Government: JS 39-8500
- Colonies & colonization; Emigration & Immigration; International migration: JV 1-480
- International Law (See JZ & KZ): JX (1)-(6650)
- International Relations: JZ 5-6530
You can also browse the catalog for books and DVDs using these subject keywords.
Political Science Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
EBSCOhost eBook Databases
You no longer have to come to the Library to read books in our collection!
EBSCOhost eBook Collection eBook Community College Collection
- Available off-campus using your myPTC username and password
- Provides online access to full-text books coering a wide range of subjects
- Over 20,000 titles that were originally published on paper but are now available online
- Read directly from your computer screen
- Print up to 60 pages (Note: There is a 20 page print limit in the Library)
- Create PDFs of chapters or page ranges (up to 60 pages)
- Download eBooks to your computer, Apple or Android devices, and Kindle for up to 2 weeks!
Downloading eBooks requires signing up for a free MyEBSCOhost account as well as additional viewing requirements. The viewing requirements for different devices are:
- Computer: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing (To sign up for and download this software is free.)
- Apple or Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended (This app can be downloaded from your respective App Store for free.)
- Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle (Instructions on how to use the Send to Kindle feature can be found here)
Instructions for downloading eBooks to various devices:
Interesting Books and eBooks Related to Political Science
The Confidence Trap
Call Number: JC421 .R86 2013 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
In this wide-ranging, original, and compelling book, David Runciman tells the story of modern democracy through the history of moments of crisis, from the First World War to the economic crash of 2008. A global history with a special focus on the United States, The Confidence Trap examines how democracy survived threats ranging from the Great Depression to the Cuban missile crisis, and from Watergate to the collapse of Lehman Brothers. Breeding complacency rather than wisdom, crises lead to the dangerous belief that democracies can muddle through anything--a confidence trap that may lead to a crisis that is just too big to escape, if it hasn't already. The most serious challenges confronting democracy today are debt, the war on terror, the rise of China, and climate change. If democracy is to survive them, it must figure out a way to break the confidence trap.
Below is a list of political science related books and ebooks the library has in the collection. In order to access ebooks off-campus you will need to use your student ID # and 8 digit birthday to log in. (Example: Log In: 123456789 / Password: 01011900)
Race Appeal: How candidates invoke race in U.S. political campaigns
Call Number: JK2281 .M372 2011 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
In the evolving American political culture, whites and blacks continue to respond very differently to race-based messages and the candidates who use them. Race Appeal examines the use and influence such appeals have on voters in elections for federal office in which one candidate is a member of a minority group. Combining rigorous analyses with in-depth case studies-including an examination of race-based appeals in the historic 2008 presidential election-Race Appeal is a groundbreaking work that represents the most extensive and thorough treatment of race-based appeals in American political campaigns to date.
The Dispensable Nation
Call Number: JZ1670 .N37 2013 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
In a brilliant and revealing book destined to drive debate about the future of American power, Vali Nasr questions America's dangerous choice to engage less and matter less in the world. Vali Nasr, author of the groundbreaking The Shia Revival, worked closely with Hillary Clinton at the State Department on Afghan and Pakistani affairs. In The Dispensable Nation, he takes us behind the scenes to show how Secretary Clinton and her ally, Ambassador Richard Holbrooke, were thwarted in their efforts to guide an ambitious policy in South Asia and the Middle East. Drawing on his unrivaled expertise in Middle East affairs and firsthand experience in diplomacy, Nasr demonstrates why turning our backs is dangerous and, what's more, sells short American power. The United States has secured stability, promoted prosperity, and built democracy in region after region since the end of the Second World War, he reminds us, and The Dispensable Nation offers a striking vision of what it can achieve when it reclaims its bold leadership in the world.
Call Number: JK1764 .N68 2009eb (ebook)
Collaborative democracy -government with the people -is a new vision of governance in the digital age. Wiki Government explains how to translate the vision into reality. Beth Simone Noveck draws on her experience in creating Peer-to-Patent, the federal government's first social networking initiative, to show how technology can connect the expertise of the many to the power of the few. In the process, she reveals what it takes to innovate in government. Peer-to-Patent shows how policymakers can improve decisionmaking by harnessing networks to public institutions. By encouraging, coordinating, and structuring citizen participation, technology can make government both more open and more effective at solving today's complex social and economic problems. Wiki Government describes how this model can be applied in a wide variety of settings and offers a fundamental rethinking of effective governance and democratic legitimacy for the twenty-first century.
Beyond the Global Culture War
Call Number: JA66 .W33 2006eb (ebook)
"Beyond the Global Culture War" presents a cross-cultural critique of global liberalism and argues for a broad-based challenge that can meet it on its own scale. Adam Webb is one of our most exciting and original young scholars, and this book is certain to generate many new debates. This timely volume probes many of the key challenges we face in the new millennium. This is essential reading for all students of politics and globalization.
WikiLeaks and the Age of Transparency
Call Number: JK1764 .S5479 2011 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
Looks at the rise in prominence of Wikileaks, and the broader ongoing trend away from closed systems and toward transparency and openness in government and corporations.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.