Skip to Main Content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Browsing the Shelves
If you'd prefer to peruse our shelves rather than search our catalog, most general geography books can be located under the following Library of Congress call numbers G 1 - 900. Further specific locations:
- Atlases: G 1000-3122
- Maps: G 3180-9980
- Cartography: GA 101-1776
- Physical Geography: GB 3-5030
- Oceanography: GC 1-1581
- Environment: GE 1-350
- Human Ecology/Environment: GF 1-900
You can also browse the catalog for books and DVDs using these subject keywords.
Geography Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Search the Online Catalog
You can search for both print and electronic books through the Library's online catalog. Type the keyword(s) in the search bar below and then hit 'Search'. Keywords can be any combination of words from the author, title, or subject fields. Examples are:
- revolut* and United States (will retrieve revolution, revolutionary, revolutions and so on COMBINED with United States)
- Sigmund Freud (books by or about Sigmund Freud)
Tip: Keep in mind that you only need a few keywords for any search. The more words you enter the fewer results you will find. Try to limit your keywords to 3 or less.
Additionally, you don't not have to search by keyword. You can also search by Title, Author, Subject, Journal Title, or Call Number. Keyword searching is the best choice though when looking for a resources on a topic.
EBSCOhost eBook Databases
You no longer have to come to the Library to read books in our collection!
EBSCOhost eBook Collection eBook Community College Collection
- Available off-campus using your myPTC username and password
- Provides online access to full-text books coering a wide range of subjects
- Over 20,000 titles that were originally published on paper but are now available online
- Read directly from your computer screen
- Print up to 60 pages (Note: There is a 20 page print limit in the Library)
- Create PDFs of chapters or page ranges (up to 60 pages)
- Download eBooks to your computer, Apple or Android devices, and Kindle for up to 2 weeks!
Downloading eBooks requires signing up for a free MyEBSCOhost account as well as additional viewing requirements. The viewing requirements for different devices are:
- Computer: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing (To sign up for and download this software is free.)
- Apple or Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended (This app can be downloaded from your respective App Store for free.)
- Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle (Instructions on how to use the Send to Kindle feature can be found here)
Instructions for downloading eBooks to various devices:
Interesting Books and eBooks Related to Geography
Everyday Geography by
Call Number: G116 .M38 1994 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
A review of basic geography offers country-by-country descriptions detailing topography, climate, natural resources, history, and culture.
Below is a list of geography related books and ebooks the library has in the collection. In order to access ebooks off-campus you will need to use your student ID # and 8 digit birthday to log in. (Example: Log In: 123456789 / Password: 01011900)
Call Number: GA105.3 .J46 2011 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
Jennings takes readers on a world tour of geogeeks from the London Map Fair to the bowels of the Library of Congress, from the prepubescent geniuses at the National Geographic Bee to the computer programmers at Google Earth. Each chapter delves into a different aspect of map culture: highpointing, geocaching, road atlas rallying, even the "unreal estate" charted on the maps of fiction and fantasy. He also considers the ways in which cartography has shaped our history, suggesting that the impulse to make and read maps is as relevant today as it has ever been. From the "Here be dragons" parchment maps of the Age of Discovery to the spinning globes of grade school to the postmodern revolution of digital maps and GPS, Maphead is filled with intriguing details, engaging anecdotes, and enlightening analysis. If you're an inveterate map lover yourself-or even if you're among the cartographically clueless who can get lost in a supermarket-let Ken Jennings be your guide to the strange world of mapheads.
The Geography of War and Peace by
Call Number: JC319 .G445 2005 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
Our world of increasing and varied conflicts is confusing and threatening to citizens of all countries, as they try to understand its causes and consequences. However, how and why war occurs, and peace is sustained, cannot be understood without realizing that those who make war and peace must negotiate a complex world political map of sovereign spaces, borders, networks of communication, access to nested geographic scales, and patterns of resource distribution. This book takes advantage of a diversity of geographic perspectives as it analyzes the political processes of war and their spatial expression. Contributors to the volume examine particular manifestations of war in light of nationalism, religion, gender identities, state ideology, border formation, genocide, spatial rhetoric, terrorism, and a variety of resource conflicts. The final section on the geography of peace covers peace movements, diplomacy, the expansion of NATO, and the geography of post-war reconstruction. Case studies of numerous conflicts include Israel and Palestine, Afghanistan, Northern Ireland, Bosnia-Herzogovina, West Africa, and the attacks of September 11, 2001.
Physical Geography by
Call Number: GB59 .C74 2003eb (ebook)
With Physical Geography: A Self-Teaching Guide, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more about the basics of how our planet operates. Veteran geography teacher Michael Craghan takes you on a guided tour of Earth's surface, explaining our planet's systems and cycles and their complex interactions step by step. From seasonal changes to coastal processes, from effluvial basins to deep sea fissures, Craghan puts the emphasis on comprehension of the topics. He also includes more than 100 specially commissioned illustrations and 50 photographs to help clarify difficult concepts. Physical Geography allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern. Packed with useful, up-to-date information, this clear, concise volume is a valuable learning tool and reference source for anyone who wants to improve his or her understanding of physical geography.
The Changing Geography of Africa and the Middle East by
Call Number: DT6.7 .C47 2003eb (ebook)
Introduction -- Independence : promise at the new dawning / Graham Chapman and Kathleen Baker -- The changing geography of Southern Africa / Deborah Potts -- The changing geography of Central Africa / Felicite Awassi Atsimadja -- The changing geography of West Africa / Kathleen Baker -- The changing geography of Eastern Africa / Anthony O' Connor -- The changing geography of North Africa : development, migration and the demographic time bomb / George Joffe -- The changing geography of the Lower Nile : Egypt and Sudan as Riparian states / J. Anthony Allan -- The troubled Arab Middle East / John B. Gould -- The non-Arab Middle East : Iran, Turkey and Israel / Keith McLachlan -- Conclusions : A growing sense of urgency / Graham Chapman and Kathleen Baker.
Who's Your City? by
Call Number: GF21 .F56 2008 (Ottenheimer-South: Circulation Shelves)
It's a mantra of the age of globalization that where we live doesn't matter. We can innovate just as easily from a ski chalet in Aspen or a beachhouse in Provence as in the office of a Silicon Valley startup. According to Richard Florida, this is wrong. Globalization is not flattening the world; in fact, place is increasingly relevant to the global economy and our individual lives. Where we live determines the jobs and careers we have access to, the people we meet, and the mating markets in which we participate. And everything we think we know about cities and their economic roles is up for grabs. Who's Your City'offers the first available city rankings by life-stage, rating the best places for singles, families, and empty-nesters to reside. Florida's insights and data provide an essential guide for the more than 40 million Americans who move each year, illuminating everything from what those choices mean for our everyday lives to how we should go about making them.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.