Skip to main content

University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

Ottenheimer Libraries

Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles

MLA Format (8th Edition): Websites and Other Electronic Sources

Citing a Webpage

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 *When lising a URL, leave off the https:// 

*Including the date you accessed the website is optional.

 

 

Lastname, Firstname. "Webpage." Website. Publisher, Date of Publication, URL. Accessed Date.

 

Examples:

Redfern, Suz. "Who needs a flu vaccine?" WebMD, symptoms.webmd.com/cold-and-flu-map-tool/flu-vaccines-explained. Accessed 22 September 2014.

 

"The Digital Domain of Warfare." Nova. PBS Online, 15 October 2015.  www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/military/digital-warfare.html. Accessed 15 August 2015.

 

 This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab. All examples were createf for the purposes of this LibGuide. If you need citation information, please visit the Research Process LibGuide.

Citing a Website

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

*When lising a URL, leave off the https://

*Including the date you accessed the website is optional.

 

Lastname, firstname. Website Name. Publisher, Date of Publication. URL. Accessed Date.

 

Examples:

Wynalak, Stephanie. The End of the World as We Know It. America's Future Foundation, Aug. 2006. americasfuture.org/the-end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it/. Accessed 6 Jan. 2009.

 

Maya Angelou Papers. New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts, 2016. archives.nypl.org/scm/22986. 

 

 

 

(This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab website.)

Citing an Online Dictionary

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

*When lising a URL, leave off the https://

*Including the date you accessed the website is optional.

 

When citing an online dictionary, include the following information:

"headword." Original Source, PublisherDate of Publication. Website, URL. Accessed date.

Example:

"hacker." Merriam-Webster's Learner Dictionary, Merriam-Webster2010Merriam-Webster.com, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hacker

 

"website." Random House Dictionary, Random House2001. Dictionary.com, www.dictionary.com/browse/website?s=t. Accessed 12 Dec. 2013.

Citing an Online Image

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 *When lising a URL, leave off the https://

 

Citation information for an image:

Artist's Lastname, firstname. Work of Art. Date of Creation. Place of Art, City Where It is. Website. URL. Accessed Date of Access.

 

Examples:

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid. Museo National del Prado. www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74. Accessed 22 May 2006.

Klee, Paul. Twittering Machine. 1922. Museum of Modern Art, New York. The Artchive. www.artchive.com/artchive/K/klee/twittering_machine.jpg.html. Accessed 22 May 2006.

 

(This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you more information about citing an image, please visit their website.)

 

A Tweet

Twitter username. "tweet in its entirety." TwitterDate  of posting, time of posting. URL.

Information from OWL Purdue website. For more help, visit their site.

 


Example

@Barack_Obama. "Household incomes are up, and the poverty rate is down across all demographics." Twitter, 27 September 2016, 12:42 p.m. twitter.com/BarackObama/status/780855089946726400.

 

Example created for this LibGuide.

A Listserv, Discussion Group, or Blog Posting

Cite web postings as you would a standard web entry.

Include screen names as author names when author name is not known.

If both names are known, place the author’s name in brackets.

Editor, screen name, author, or compiler name. "Posting Title." Name of Site. Version number if available.  Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher). URL. Date of access.

Information from OWL Purdue website. For more help, visit their site.

Example

Carmichael, Matt. "The Big Reason Historic Preservation Districts Are a Good Idea."  Best Places Blog, 29 February 2016Livibility, www.livability.com/blog.  Accessed 5 March 2016.

Example created for this LibGuide.

Citing Online Sources-8th Edition

Ottenheimer-North Library
(501)812-2272

Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878


Have a question? Ask A Librarian.