Skip to main content

University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

Ottenheimer Libraries

Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles

MLA Format (8th Edition): Books

Print Books

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 

Basic Format:

The author's name appears as last name, first name. The basic form for a book citation is:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of  Publication.

Example:

Koryta, Michael. So Cold the River. Little Brown and Company, 2010.

 

Book with More than One Author:
If a book has more then one author, the first author's name appears in last name, first name format. Additional author(s) names appear in first name, last name format. Use a comma between the authors' names.

Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.

 Example:

Patterson, James, and Maxine Paetro. 7th Heaven. Little Brown and Company, 2008. 

 

Book with No Author:

List by title of the book first instead of the author's name. List these entries alphabetically by title instead of by author's name.

 

 

Book with an Editor

Use the basic book format, and replace the author's name with the editor's name followed by ed. The editor's name appears as last name, first name. The basic form for a book citation is:

Lastname, Firstname, editor. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of  Publication. 

Example:

Jones, Micheal, editor. So Warm the Ocean. Pink and Company, 1999. 

 

Book with Editor and Author:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edited by Firstname Lastname. Publisher, Year of  Publication. 

 

Example:

Smith, John. A Long Way Home. Edited by Sarah Jane. Popular Publishing, 2001. 

 

 

An Edition of a Book:

Use the basic citation format for a book and add the number of the edition after the title.

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edition, Publisher, Year of Publication. 

 

This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you need citation information for a type of book that is not listed above, please visit their website. All examples were created for this LibGuide.

Parts of a Book

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 

 

A Chapter in a Book or a Work in an Anthology, Reference, or Collection

Examples of these works may include an essay/short story/poem in an edited collection or a chapter of a book.

The basic formmat is:

Lastname, First name. "Title of Essay or Chapter." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s), PublisherYear, pp. Pages.

 

 

Some examples:

Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, Heinemann, 2000, pp. 24-34.

 

Swanson, Gunnar. "Graphic Design Education as a Liberal Art: Design and Knowledge in the University and The 'Real World." The Education of a Graphic Designeredited by Steven Heller, Allworth Press, 1998, pp. 13-24.

 

Burns, Robert. "Red, Red Rose." 100 Best-Loved Poems, edited by Philip Smith, Dover, 1995, p. 26. 

 

 

Kincaid, Jamaica. "Girl." The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Short Stories, edited by Tobias Wolff, Vintage1994, pp. 306-07. 

 

If all of the works in the collection have the same author, then there will be no editor:

Whitman, Walt. "I Sing the Body Electric." Selected Poems. Dover, 1991, pp. 12-19.

 

 

Carter, Angela. "The Tiger's Bride." Burning Your Boats: The Collected Stories. Penguin, 1995, pp.154-69.

 

A Multivolume Work

When citing only one volume of a multivolume work, include the volume number after the work's title, or after the work's editor or translator.

Smith, Paul.  "Overview: 'A Rose for Emily'."  Short Stories for Students, edited by Jay Parinivol. 7McGraw-Hill1999, pp. 358-360.

 

 

Article in a Reference Book (e.g. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries)

Cite an encyclopeida, diectionary, or other reference book using the same basic format for a book. However, do not include the publisher information. If the book is organized alphabetically (as most are), do not include the volume or page number.

"Ideology." The American Heritage Dictionary. 3rd ed. 1997.

 

 

 

 

An Introduction, Preface, Foreword, or Afterword

When citing an introduction, a preface, a foreword, or an afterword, write the name of the author(s) of the piece you are citing. Then give the name of the part being cited, which should not be italicized or enclosed in quotation marks.

 

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book Part. Title of book, by Book Author's name. Publisher, Date of Publication, pp. Pages

Examples:

Farrell, Thomas B. Introduction. Norms of Rhetorical Culture, by Farrell. Yale UP, 1993, pp. 1-13. 

 

Duncan, Hugh Dalziel. Introduction. Permanence and Change: An Anatomy of Purpose, by Kenneth Burke. U of California P, 1984, pp. xiii-xliv

 

(This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you need citation information about a part of a book, please visit their website.)

Electronic Books

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

*When listing a URL, leave off the https:// 

 

Electronic Books (Ebooks)

If you are citing a book hosted by an online database, use the following information.

1. Use the citation format for a print book.

2. Before you put the Medium of the Publication, add the name of the database and the date the book was retreived.

Lastname, Firstname. Title. Publisher, Year of Publication. Name of Database or Website, URL.

Database Example:

Concoran, Ian. The Art of Digital BrandingAllworth Press, 2007. eBbook Collection ( EBSCOhost)uaptc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=209926&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_C.

 

Onilne Example:

Brower, Kate AThe Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House. Harper Collins, 2016. GoogleBooksbooks.google.com/books?id=6yjjCgAAQBAJ&lpg=PP1&dq=white%20house&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q=white%20house&f=false

 

 

Kindle or Nook Books

To cite a Kindle or Nook book, use the same format as you would for a print book. After the title, put the type of eBook such as "Kindle ed" or "Nook ed."

Author Lastname, Author Firstname. Title of Book. Type of eBookPublisher, Year of Publication. 

 Example: 

Kennedy, Erica. Feminista. Kindle ed., St. Martin's Press, 2009. 


 

(This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.)

Citing Library E-books

Print a copy of the citation format for library ebooks.

Ottenheimer-North Library
(501)812-2272

Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878


Have a question? Ask A Librarian.