Skip to main content

University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

Ottenheimer Libraries

Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles

MLA Format (8th Edition): Periodicals

Magazines

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.
 
Print
Here is the citation information for a magazine article:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.

 

Examples:

Duvall, John N. "The (Super)Marketplace of Images: Television as Unmediated Mediation in DeLillo's White Noise." Arizona Quarterly, 12 May 1994pp. 127-53. 

 

(This information was obtained from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab. If you more information about citing a journal article, please visit their website.)

 

Articles in a Database

Cite articles from a PTC databases (e.g. LexisNexis, ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.) the same as a print article. After the page numbers, list the title of the database in italics and then the DOI or URL. If a DOI is not provided, use the URL instead. Provide the date of access if you wish.

LastnameFirstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Day Month Year, pp. pages. Database name, URL or doiAccessed date.

 

Example:

Junod, Tom. "The State of the American Dog." Esquire, August 2014, p. 64. Proquestsearch.proquest.com/docview/1558967057/fulltext/3DC239BE818F482APQ/2?accountid=39906. Accessed 26 Sept. 2016

 

This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab website.

 

Newspapers

Cite a newspaper article the same way you would a magazine article. However, there are different types of page numbers in a newspaper.

LastnameFirstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, p. pages. 

 

Example:

Brubaker, Bill. "New Health Center Targets County's Uninsured Patients." Washington Post, 24 May 2007, p. LZ01.

 
BehreRobert. "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats." Post and Courier, 29 Apr2007, p. A11. 

 

Scholarly Journals

*Remember that all citations need to be formated with a hanging indent where the first line is to the margin and the following lines are indented.

 

Print

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.

 

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. number, no. issue number, Year, pp. pages. 

Example:

Carpenter, Lucas. "It Don't Mean Nothin': Vietnam War Fiction and Postmodernism." College Literature, vol. 30, no. 2, 2003, pp. 30-50. 

This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab website.

 

Articles in a Database

Cite articles from a PTC databases (e.g. LexisNexis, ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.) the same as a print article. After the page numbers, list the title of the database in italics and then the DOI or URL. If a DOI is not provided, use the URL instead. Provide the date of access if you wish.

LastnameFirstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. numberno. issue number, year, pp. pages. Database name, URL or doi. Accessed date.

 

Example:

Singer, Glen. "Genes." Aethlon: The Journal of Sport Literature,  vol. 23, no. 1, 2005, pp. 95-96. Literature Resource Center. https://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=LitRC&sw=w&u=lftla_pultch&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA157655465&asid=ea823cbffe68be067730362add4e8d0f. Accessed 26 Sept. 2016
 
 
Frankfurt, Sheila and Patricia Frazier. "A Review of Research on Moral Injury in Combat Veterans." Military Psychology, vol. 28, no. 5, 2016, pp. 318-330. PsycARTICLES, doi: 10.1037/mil0000132. Accessed 15 Aug. 2016

 

This information was obtained from the Purdue Online Writing Lab website.

Citing Articles from Library Databases-MLA 8th Edition

Ottenheimer-North Library
(501)812-2272

Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878


Have a question? Ask A Librarian.