Books

General Model for Citing Books in the Chicago Notes and Bibliography System

FOOTNOTE OR ENDNOTE (N):

1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

CORRESPONDING BIBLIOGRAPHICAL ENTRY (B):

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

BOOK BY ONE AUTHOR 

N: Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums (New York: Viking Press, 1958), 128.  

B: Kerouac, Jack. The Dharma Bums. New York: Viking Press, 1958.

BOOK BY MULTIPLE AUTHORS

Two or more authors should be listed in the order they appear as authors, and not necessarily alphabetically.

N: Scott Lash and John Urry, Economies of Signs & Space (London: Sage Publications, 1994), 241-51.

B: Lash, Scott, and John Urry. Economies of Signs & Space. London: Sage Publications, 1994.

TRANSLATED WORK WITH ONE AUTHOR

N: Julio Cortázar, Hopscotch, trans. Gregory Rabassa (New York: Pantheon Books, 1966), 165.

B: Cortázar, Julio. Hopscotch. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. New York: Pantheon Books, 1966.

BOOK WITH AUTHOR AND EDITOR

In notes, Chicago prefers the abbreviation of “editor(s)” as “ed.” or “eds.,” and translator(s) as “trans.” In bibliographic entries, these abbreviations are not used. Instead, titles are spelled out in full. This information appears in The Chicago Manual of Style, section 14.103.

N: Edward B. Tylor, Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization, ed. Paul Bohannan (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964), 194.

B: Tylor, Edward B. Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization. Edited by Paul Bohannan. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964.

CHAPTER FROM A SINGLE-AUTHORED BOOK

Chicago supplies two correct forms for bibliographic entries. Both are noted here.

N: Gloria Anzaldúa, “How to Tame a Wild Tongue,” in Borderlands: The New Mestiza – La Frontera (San Francisco: Aunt Lute Book Company, 1987), 53.  

B: Anzaldúa, Gloria. “How to Tame a Wild Tongue.” In Borderlands: The New Mestiza – La Frontera, 53–64. San Francisco: Aunt Lute Book Company, 1987. 

Or, in some cases, you may want to emphasize the entire collection in the bibliographic entry.

Anzaldúa, Gloria. Borderlands: The New Mestiza – La Frontera. San Francisco: Aunt Lute Book Company, 1987. See esp. chap. 5, “How to Tame a Wild Tongue.”

CONTRIBUTIONS FROM AN EDITED COLLECTION WITH VARIOUS AUTHORED CHAPTERS

When citing work by a single author that appears in a book with multiple authors, the contributing author’s name is cited first, followed by the title of their contribution, the word 'in' and the title of the book, along with the name(s) of the editors, and other standard information.

N: Muriel Harris, “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers,” in A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, ed. Ben Rafoth (New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000), 24-34.    

B: Harris, Muriel. “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers.” In A Tutor’s Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, 24-34. New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000.

 

taken from: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/chicago_manual_17th_edition/cmos_formatting_and_style_guide/books.html

 

 

 

When citing a book you accessed online or in the form of an e-book, simply add relevant information about its format or location to the end of your citation.

Note that books in these formats might lack reliable page numbers. If there are no page numbers, or page numbers that would look different for another user, use another locator in your notes instead, such as a chapter number.

For an online book, add the URL or DOI where it can be accessed.

Chicago online book citation

Chicago bibliography	Author last name, first name. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. URL or DOI.   Murdoch, Iris. The Sea, the Sea. London: Vintage, 2008. https://books.google.nl/books?id=IJ5fL72Vvs8C.
Full note	Author first name last name, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page number(s) or Alternate locator, URL or DOI.   1. Iris Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea (London: Vintage, 2008), 126, https://books.google.nl/books?id=IJ5fL72Vvs8C.
Short note	Author last name, Shortened Book Title, Page number(s) or Alternate locator.   2. Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea, 129.

 

For an e-book, add the format or device name (e.g. “Kindle,” “iBooks”). You don’t need to add a URL or DOI in this case.

Chicago e-book citation

Chicago bibliography	Author last name, first name. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. Format.   Murdoch, Iris. The Sea, the Sea. London: Vintage, 2008. Kindle.
Full note	Author first name last name, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page number(s) or Alternate locator, Format.   1. Iris Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea (London: Vintage, 2008), chap. 5, Kindle.
Short note	Author last name, Shortened Book Title, Page number(s) or Alternate locator.   2. Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea, chap. 3