Search the Library Catalog
Currently Showing
- Riverdale 10Independently owned movie theater in Little Rock showing a mix of mainstream and indie/art films.
AV Club Reviews
ebooks
Welcome to the Film Guide
Welcome to UA-PTC Libraries' Film Guide. We have collected some great research tools and information for anyone interested in learning more about appreciating, studying, or creating films.
You may ask for help by using our Ask a Librarian service or contact me by using the information listed under my profile.
Featured Video from Films on Demand: "The Technology of Film"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal username and password.
Movies in the Library
Here are just a few of the movies we have available for check-out in the Library. Be sure to check the catalog for other titles.
- Citizen KaneCall Number: Main - 1st Floor Multimedia - PN1997 .C5 1941
- The GodfatherCall Number: Main - 1st Floor Multimedia - PN1997 .G644 2001
- The Day the Earth Stood StillCall Number: Main - 1st Floor Multimedia - PN1997 .D3942 2002
- The Good, the Bad, and the UglyCall Number: Main - 1st Floor Multimedia - PN1995.9 .G663 1998
- 2001: A Space OdysseyCall Number: Main - 1st Floor Multimedia - PN1995.9 .S26 T8 2001
Library Books
Here are just a few of the books we have available for check-out in the Library. Be sure to check the catalog for other titles.
Aging Heroes: Growing Old in Popular CultureCall Number: Main: 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves - P94.5.A38 A55 2015
From Shane to Kill Bill: Rethinking the WesternCall Number: Main - 2nd Floor Circulation - PN1995.9.W4 M37 2007
Spike LeeCall Number: Main: 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves - PN1998.3 .L44 M35 2014
Flicker: Your Brain on Movies by Call Number: Main: 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves - PN1995.9 .A8 Z33 2015
Digital Compositing for Film and Video by Call Number: Main: 2nd Floor Circulation TR850 .W75 2010ISBN: 024081309X
Subject Guide
Web Resources
- UFDC Home - Ringling CollectionFind images of actors and actresses from the 19th century.
- Open Culture - Free Streaming FilmsWatch 725 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors.
Databases for Research
Here is a list of databases that will help you find articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers.
ProQuest - Contains over 2,500 magazines and scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects.
Academic OneFile - (Gale) Peer-reviewed articles offering over 5,400 full-text journal titles, extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists. How do I use this?
