Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that can help you with your dental assisting research. They include:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists. How do I use this?
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
- Health Administration Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
- Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. How do I use this?
- Science Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest Central) Scholarly journals and popular sources for research in the fields of physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Featured Video from "Films on Demand": "Hernia Repair"
Find more videos like this by going to the UA-PTC Libraries website (www.uaptc.edu/library), clicking on Databases A-Z, and selecting "Films on Demand."
NOTE: If you are accessing these videos from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Selected Print Books
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Reference RD17 .G34 2014ISBN: 1573027367The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, 3rd Edition, provides patients and caregivers a start-to-finish overview of a surgery or test, as well as information on related diseases and conditions, medications, and other issues that pertain to hospitalization, insurance plans, and the impact of the affordable Care act on all of the above. This information will help the average person understand what to expect with the procedure, empowering them to be better informed healthcare consumers and care advocates. This title can also serve as a ready reference for Junior college students and undergraduate students majoring in health fields.
Instrumentation for the Operating Room by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Reference RD71 .B76 2012ISBN: 0323077390With more than 1,000 photographs of surgical instruments and instrument tips in the book and online, Instrumentation for the Operating Room: A Photographic Manual, 8th Edition, shows more illustrations than any other manual. Instruments are organized by surgical specialty, beginning with basic sets and progressing to more advanced sets. Instructions on preparation, sterilization, and setup, as well as clear explanations for common surgical procedures can be found throughout the book.
Differentiating Surgical Equipment and Supplies by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves (RD32 .R695 2010ISBN: 0803615728A full-color compendium of surgical equipment and supplies in one spiral-bound text/atlas! Here's all of the information you will need to know about surgical equipment and supplies--their use and their specifications-- in one easy-to-use reference with more than 800 full-color photographs.
Surgical Technology Review by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RD32.3 .C44 2010ISBN: 0803616767For the surgical technology student, a conveniently-sized exam prep text. Includes a 150 question pre-test and a 150 question post-test to help exam candidates assess their knowledge before they begin studying and again after they review the content in the book. Each chapter provides a brief content outline that summarizes the information presented on the exam. Practice questions appear throughout the text to reinforce the content.
Understanding Anesthesia by Call Number: Ottenheimer - North Library 2nd Floor Circulation Shelves RD81 .O74 2012ISBN: 1421403161This book describes the various options for anesthesia, how they can be used together for the best possible surgical outcome and optimal pain management, and their associated complications and risks. Dr. Orebaugh focuses especially on the benefits of regional anesthesia. When appropriately applied-whether alone or with other methods-spinal and peripheral nerve blocks often lead to better recovery and reduced pain. With as many as half of all surgical patients experiencing poorly controlled postoperative pain, regional anesthetic nerve blocks can help significantly in managing this pain while reducing the side effects of general anesthetics and pain medications. A better understanding of anesthesia will reassure people contemplating surgery and equip them to take the necessary steps toward healthy recovery.
Selected e-books
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Surgical Anatomy Around the Orbit by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to accessISBN: 0781750814Publication Date: 2005-09-20This full-color surgical atlas provides a detailed, true-to-life view of periorbital anatomy as seen during an operative procedure. More than 130 photographs of fresh cadaver dissections and more than 100 vivid drawings by an award-winning ophthalmic artist enable surgeons to thoroughly preview this complex anatomy prior to surgery.
Gerioperative Nursing Care by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0826104703This timely volume introduces gerioperative care, a new model of surgical care for the elderly designed to improve surgical outcomes and prevent complications through a focus on communication and relationship-centered care. It is the only book to specifically address the care of older adults undergoing surgery, providing practitioners with critical, practical, and theoretical information from the initial decision to have surgery through the first follow-up visit post-discharge. The text includes the anatomy and physiology of aging, preoperative care, intraoperative and post-anesthesia care, postoperative care, returning home, risk appraisal, education, prevention, early intervention, multidisciplinary team collaboration, and effective communication across all systems of care.
Operating Department Practice A-Z by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 0511388594The Basic Guide to Anatomy and Physiology for Dental Care Professionals introduces the fundamentals of human anatomy and physiology to the student Dental Care Professional. Beginning with a definition of anatomy and physiology, and with all the basics of cell, tissue and organ biology, this Basic Guide covers: the cardiovascular, respiratory and digestive systems, all of which are central to the DCP curriculum core areas such as skull and oral anatomy, periodontal tissues, blood and nerve supply to the oral cavity, muscles of mastication, and major salivary glands areas such as jaw and tooth development, and the histology or oral and dental tissue.- Surgical Notes: A Pocket Survival Guide for the Operating Room by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to accessISBN: 0803641095Be ready for challenging situations with tips for communicating effectively in the OR. Anticipate need and attune your critical thinking to be able to set up your back table and mayo stand quickly and efficiently, count effectively, and communicate well with your team.
Subject Guide
Latest articles from "Patient Safety in Surgery"
Useful websites
- MediLexicon Medical Equipment Dictionary"Search for definitions and descriptions of medical equipment and surgical devices from [a] database of over 3,000 entries."
"UCSF Hospital doctors performing surgery" by Paul Fusco
Accessed via ARTstor
- Surgical Instrument Pictures"Designed for physicians, nurses, surgical technicians, and anyone else interested in becoming familiar with surgical instruments."
- PubMed Central (Full Text Biomedical Journal Articles)"Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine."