Search the UA-PTC Library Catalog
Downloading eBooks from the UA-PTC Library Catalog
The PTC Library Catalog includes print books at all three library locations and electronic books that you can view on your computer or download to your computer or portable device. See the instruction sheet below for your computer or device for complete details.
Recommended Databases
UA-PTC Libraries has a number of databases that will help you in your early childhood research. They include:
Useful Websites
- ERIC: Education Resources Information CenterERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
"Classroom" by John August Swanson
Accessed via the ARTstor database
- Child Trends"Child Trends is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that studies children at all stages of development."
- Illuminations: Resources for Teaching MathMath lesson plans and activities for PreK-12th grade, sponsored by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM).
- ShmoopWebsite designed "to make learning and writing more fun and relevant for students in the digital age." Includes resources for students and teachers in subjects such as literature, history, and music.
- Teaching Our Youngest: A Guide for Preschool Teachers and Child Care and Family ProvidersClick on the "PDF" link to read this guide produced by the U.S. Dept. of Education
- Teacher's Domain; Science Free Online Resources"An online library of more than 1,000 free media resources from the best in public television," including video and audio segments, lesson plans, and interactive Flash activities.
- Wisc-OnlineSign up for a FREE account to view a variety of interactive lessons. The Service section includes lessons related to early childhood education. NOTE: Your computer must have Adobe Flash Player installed to view these guides. Go to https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ to install this software.
Education Orientation Video Fall 2018
Please follow these steps to complete your Education Orientation assignment.
You will need to allow at least 10 minutes to complete the assignment.
This assignment will be available until December 14, 2018.
1) Watch the following video. Please have a pen/pencil and paper available while viewing the video. This video includes sound (adjust the volume as needed). Please use headphones if viewing it in the library.
2) Print off the APA Citing PTC Databases and E-books handout.
UA-PTC Libraries has Piaget Kits available for checkout. Contact the library for more information!
Suggested Education Books @ UA-PTC Libraries
Learning in a Time of Abundance by Call Number: ZA3075 .C686 2024ISBN: 9781421447797Publication Date: 2024-01-23
Reading for Our Lives by Call Number: LB1573 .S67 2022ISBN: 9780593332177Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Suggested Education E-Books @ UA-PTC Libraries
NOTE: If you are accessing these e-books from off-campus, you will need to log in using your UA-PTC Portal User Name and Password.
Communication and Mental Health Promotion in Early Childhood Education by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 9781536185560Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Developmentally Appropriate Practice in Early Childhood Programs Serving Children from Birth Through Age 8, Fourth Edition (Fully Revised and Updated) by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 9781938113963Publication Date: 2021-12-14
Media Literacy for Young Children by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 9781938113987Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Learning Stories and Teacher Inquiry Groups: Re-Imagining Teaching and Assessment in Early Childhood Education by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 9781938113925Publication Date: 2021-07-13
Developing Self and Self-Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Beyond by Call Number: Online e-book. Click title to access.ISBN: 9781839828409Publication Date: 2020-05-26
